17 Tips to Make Life Easier

Happy Friday!

Today I’m posting at the Life List Club. Please come visit me there when you’re done here.

But I just couldn’t leave you all here with nothing fun to read.

I found this list on Pinterest and thought you might find something worthwhile:

17 Ridiculously Useful Tips to Make Life Easier

1. Reheat Pizza

Heat up leftover pizza in a nonstick skillet on top of the stove; set heat to med-low and heat till warm. This keeps the crust crispy. No soggy micro pizza. I saw this on the cooking channel and it really works.

2. Easy Deviled Eggs

Put cooked egg yolks in a zip lock bag. Seal bag and mash yolks till they are all broken up. Add remainder of ingredients, reseal, keep mashing it up mixing roughly; cut the tip of the baggy, squeeze mixture into egg. Just throw bag away when done – easy clean up.

3. Expanding Frosting

When you buy a container of cake frosting from the store, whip it with your mixer for a few minutes. You can double it in size. You get to frost more cake/cupcakes with the same amount. You also eat less sugar and calories per serving.

4. Reheating Breads

To warm biscuits, pancakes, or muffins that were refrigerated, place them in a microwave with a cup of water. The increased moisture will keep the food moist and help it reheat faster.

5. Newspaper Weeds Away

Start putting in your plants; work the nutrients into your soil. Wet newspapers and put layers around the plants overlapping as you go; cover with mulch and forget about weeds. Weeds will get through some gardening plastic; they will not get through wet newspapers.

6. Picking Up Broken Glass

Use a wet cotton ball or Q-tip to pick up the small shards of glass you can’t see easily.

7. No More Mosquitoes

Place a dryer sheet in your pocket. It will keep the mosquitoes away.

8. Squirrel Away!

To keep squirrels from eating your plants sprinkle your plants with cayenne pepper. The cayenne pepper doesn’t hurt the plant and the squirrels won’t come near it.

9. Flexible Vacuum

To get something out of a heat register or under the fridge add an empty paper towel roll or empty gift wrap roll to your vacuum. It can be bent or flattened to get in narrow openings.

For the rest of the post, please click HERE. Pay special attention to #17! It could save your life!

See you over at LLC!

What tips do you have to share?

16 thoughts on “17 Tips to Make Life Easier

  1. Given that it’s mosquito season, I really need to test out that dryer sheet idea. It sounds too good to be true.

  2. Pingback: Writing Blog Treasures 7~14 | Gene Lempp ~ Writer

  3. The comment demons just ate my comment, so I’ll try again. 🙂

    I really want to try the newspaper in the garden trick. One of these days, I’ll actually get around to it. And the dryer sheet in my pocket just makes my nose burn, so I resort to a lot of slapping myself. My son, who eats a banana at work every day, says that if he cuts out bananas during the summer, the mosquitoes don’t bother him. They chase after other banana eaters. 🙂

  4. Number four tells how to put moisture into breads, which I think is important, but number one tells how to dry out pizza and make it hard and crunchy instead of soft and moist. Seems a bit strange. But I always want all my baked goods underdone, soft, moist and NOT brown.

    • I know why, David! Not only did our generation experience fresh baked bread, but we also had Wonder Bread! That soft, smooshable, stick-to-the-roof-of-your-mouth yumminess! I prefer soft and moist myself. 🙂

  5. I’m trying out #3, #15, & #17. Thanks! My tip is for travelers. When packing, try rolling your clothing rather than folding. It takes up less space and cuts down on wrinkles.

    • Glad you found something good there. That travel tip is great! My mom also taught me long ago to fold clothes that might wrinkle around tissue paper. That worked! Never had wrinkled clothes. Now, most of my stuff is knit fabric, so i do roll almost everything. thanks, Diana!

  6. My girlfriend recently tried the squirrel and cayenne pepper trick.
    It didn’t work, She decided we must have Mexican squirrels here in Virginia.

I love it when you tell me what you think!

