What Do You Choose To Be Called?

Pink Heart

Sexy, smart and strong women have long been nicknamed, most often by men. Some carry negative connotations and others are somewhat endearing.

A few examples:

Skirt, Doll, and Dish – Skirt and Doll imply a cute, flirty and fun girl. Dish says, to me, a woman so delectable, a man can’t live without her.

Broad, Dame and Twist – These are slightly less complimentary. A Broad is a voluptuous woman, mainly in the derriere and one you don’t dare cross. A Dame is like a Broad but she cares a little more about her looks, using well-applied make-up. A Twist, to me, connotes a woman with special skills in the boudoir.

Floozy, Strumpet and Trollop – All of theseย  names suggest a women with loose morals, but don’t they sound likeย  potent cocktails (Cherry Floozy) or delicious pastries (Strumpet and cream)?

And then, there are those often offered up with a dose of sarcasm:

Little Miss Sunshine: A woman who happens to be happy with her life and carries through with a positive attitude.

Susie Homemaker: A woman who enjoys making a comfortable home for her family and is adept at baking, decorating and choosing fashionable clothing (or making everything herself).

Superwoman: A woman who balances many hats with aplomb, like elder caretaker, employee, wife, gardener, cook, committee chairperson, community volunteer, PTA president and soccer mom.

The only nickname I wouldn’t mind being called is

Wonder Woman

Wonder Woman

Wonder Woman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Wonder Woman first appeared in a comic book series in 1941.

Feminist, Gloria Steinem chose the image of Wonder Woman for the cover of her first issue of Ms. Magazine in July, 1972.

The TV series, Wonder Woman, followed in the late 1970s, starring Lynda Carter.

She was the perfect woman – powerful, graceful, sexy, tough, smart and compassionate, determined to expose the truth and punish the evil.

She looked really cute in glasses, too.

Male TV viewers fell in love/lust with her.

More than that, Wonder Woman was a great role model for all women. She didn’t let a man push her around, unless she wanted to be pushed.

She believed in herself and followed her heart, even when her path wasn’t what others wanted for her.

According to Wikipedia, “Wonder Woman’s viewpoints and characteristics reflect those of her creator, William Moulton Marston, who was a strong supporter of feminist ideals and female empowerment.

In a 1943 issue of The American Scholar, Marston wrote:

Not even girls want to be girls so long as our feminine archetype lacks force, strength, and power. Not wanting to be girls, they don’t want to be tender, submissive, peace-loving as good women are. Women’s strong qualities have become despised because of their weakness. The obvious remedy is to create a feminine character with all the strength of Superman plus all the allure of a good and beautiful woman.”

What image would you be comfortable with?

Should we all strive to be our own version of Wonder Woman? Or not?

I love hearing from you!

24 thoughts on “What Do You Choose To Be Called?

  1. Pingback: Floozy in the Family Tree? « A HIPPIE'S RAMBLINGS

  2. Pingback: The End is Near (and we deserve it). . . . Mashed Potato Slurpees « Author Piper Bayard

  3. I think I prefer Wonder Woman because she’s not the female counterpart of a male superhero (think: Superman & Super Girl, He-Man & She-Ra). She can stand on her own ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Honestly, any name suits me fine since I am all of those things and yet I’m none of them. Sometimes I’m a flirt, others I’m a strumpet, often I’m a dame or super woman, I can be wonder woman or I could be a twist. It all depends on my mood. What I really like to be called is Tameri. Since that encompasses all of me, good, bad, and super fabulous.

  5. I dressed up as Wonder Woman one Halloween…I think I was 10, LOL.

    I love your definitions of names. Image…hmm. Wonder Woman is certainly up there, especially after reading what you wrote. Great post Marcia!

  6. The problem with images, is that most everyone treats us as such. If we are labeled as Wonder Woman, we are expected to act like that even if we don’t want to. Same with anything negative. Labels are hard to steer away from and aren’t always self-imposed. As for me? Successful writer would suit me fine. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Ooo, I was going to pick Superwoman till I read the part about Wonder Woman. Powerful, graceful, sexy, tough, smart and compassionate are all terrific traits and something to strive for. Thanks for the uplifting post, Marcia!

  8. Love it! Great post Marcia and I love Wonder Woman. Growing up, I always wanted to wear that outfit. I bet hubby wouldn’t mind…LOL! But love the representation and heroism of a strong, empowered female hero to aspire to….fab!

  9. Love this! My favorite superhero was the cartoon TV version of Rogue from X-Men. She was sassy, smart, and Southern. She didn’t take crap from any guy, she could throw you across the room if you got out of line, and she could fly! Heck yah!

    Love your definitions of names. Totally put “There is nothing like a Dame!” in my head from South Pacific. And I could also go for watching Guys and Dolls now too. “Adelaide, Adelaide, Everloving Adelaide!”

    • I remember Rogue! What a great combination-sassy, smart and southern! I LOVE that you love old movies. Gee I wish we lived closer…you’d be my movie-watching buddy, for sure!

  10. Is it sad that on my seeeeeecret bucket list (that exists only in my mind) is rockin’ the Wonder Woman outfit? In public? ๐Ÿ™‚

    But that’s not what we’re talking about here, is it…

    I agree with August. At the same time, I think I wouldn’t mind being thought of as one of the superdudes – some of them had a great mix of qualities worth emulating. I’ll just be the girl version.

    • Oooh, yeah, looking good in her outfit would be a super ego boost! Especially for me at almost 60! That’s now going on my bucket list!
      As long as you think of yourself as a WW type, that really all that matters..Sexy, Smart, Strong!

  11. I’d toss in more brain cells, boundless energy, tighter skin, a stronger core and be perfectly happy with who I am and the goals that I’ve set for myself. There are many women that I admire, but like all of us, they have their frailties. If I were to pick a character, I suppose it would be the Bionic Woman. Think of what you could accomplish if you had the ability to move at hyper speed!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

