7 Ways to Enhance Your eBook and 6 links to audio/video tools

I’m entrenched in all things editing, self-publishing and marketing these days. I love learning new things!ereaders, Kindle, Nook, iPad

I’ve just learned a bit about enhancing your digital novels and non-fiction to make them fresh and more marketable.

Here are a few ideas, some of which I plan to try:

1. You know the biographies you write about your characters before you write your story? Shorten and polish them. Create a link in your table of contents or in the epilogue to a page of your characters’ bios.

2. You can build an index listing all your characters’ names  and link it to the first place in the book they appear.

3. You can also build an index for non-fiction books linking it to charts, tables or spreadsheets.

4. Link to your other books, if you have a backlist. Or link to a page containing an excerpt of a new book.

5. Using external links, link to your blog and your Amazon author page  and Amazon and B&N product pages.

6. For the version you upload to Apple iBooks, embed a PDF with a map of your book’s location, a group of recipes for food or drinks your characters enjoy, or to fashions that fit the era in which your characters reside.

7. Apple and Barnes & Noble, when you upload directly to them or through a distributor, support embedded podcasts and videos. (PubIt is not set up to handle podcasts or videos.) Choose a story-related musical selection for which you can get permission to use in a podcast. Embed a video book trailer for a new book, a video of photos of the setting, or anything else that pertains to your story.

Note: Amazon can support audio and video, however, their program is in closed beta testing. Currently it will only work on Kindle apps for Apple products. So, expect Amazon to make it available across the board in the future.

 

LINKS:

Need to learn how to create videos and podcasts? Check these links:

From Joanna Penn: Authors Should Podcast: 5 Reasons You Should Start Now and  How to Create a Podcast,

7 Reasons Why Writers Need to Start using Video for Book Promotion and How to Create a Book Trailer.

 

From Shelley Hitz: Free Audio Tools and Free Video Editing Software and Other Cool Video Tools

 

And, because I’m going back to my first chapter to begin my 2nd draft editing, I had to include the inimitable Chuck Wendig’s post, 25 Things to Know About Writing the First Chapter.

 

Use your imagination…what other ways could you enhance your own self-pubbed book? What stage in writing/publishing are you?

Don’t forget, Lara Schiffbauer is posting at the Life List Club Blog today about ridding yourself of self-doubt. We could use a little help with that from time to time, right?

10 thoughts on “7 Ways to Enhance Your eBook and 6 links to audio/video tools

  1. Pingback: Writing Blog Treasures 6~16 | Gene Lempp ~ Writer

  2. This is so cool Marcia, I didn’t know Apple and B+N supported embedded video and podcasts. I also see I’ll have a lot to learn too. Thanks so much for sharing all these great links. Your writing posts have been very helpful.

    • Sorry to comment twice but I had to tell you and your readers that I checked out the The Creative Penn and she makes podcasting look fun. I like fun. And Chuck??? OMG, hilarious. Thanks again Marcia, I’m pretty excited about all the new learning tools you’ve given us! You’ve done our homework for us. Yippee! Thanks again!

      • Don’t be sorry, Kate! I’m so glad to hear that my tips have been helpful. I love Joanna and Chuck, too! I appreciate you sharing your thoughts!

  3. I’m so not to this point yet, but one day, I’ll email you and be like where was that post you did about ways to enhance your e-book? Nice research, Marcia, creative and innovative as always!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

