6 Super Awesome Links, Pimp or Promote Friday and THE END

Do you ever read the ending of a book first? It’s a kind of quirky fun to see how it ends and try to surmise how the characters got there.

Then when you read through the story, you can rate yourself on how well you guessed.

fireworks

Speaking of endings…I JUST WROTE ONE! Yes! I wrote THE END!

I finished my first book!

I’ve spent a year and a half learning, reading everything I could get my hands on, starting and stopping a few different projects. But now, I’ve actually done it! Okay, so I’m not the first person to ever finish writing a book. I’m just incredibly excited. I wasn’t sure throughout this entire process that I really would ever finish.

I told you a few weeks ago I would finish by the end of May…and I did!

I have an actual title, too…SINS OF EVE.

It’s 1918 and Eighteen year-old Eve Carrington has danced around her father’s sexual advances, his lies and betrayal for too long. It’s time to go.

 Her savings are hidden deep in the lining of her carpetbag, her belongings are packed, her train ticket is tucked in her pocket.

 The letter is her salvation. She’s on her way to carve out her real life. She’ll dance. She’ll live. She’ll give birth to the Eve she knows lies deep inside.

 New York City — that’s where her dreams lie, her freedom lives and hopefully her heart will heal.

 He may chase her. He may even find her, but she’d rather die than go back.

I welcome critiques on my synopsis. This was my first attempt in writing one, so feel free to tear it apart or make suggestions.

Now begins the techy part that makes me nervous. Self-Publishing. There are so many things to do. I needed a checklist. I decided to tap into my go-to coach, Shelley Hitz. Here’s the checklist she offers FREE.

First, I’ll self-edit for a 2nd draft…then send it to beta readers, then a proofreader, then pro editors…THEN I can begin the self-pub phase. Deep breath! Ready, set, GO!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A major factor in finishing this book has been my amazing network of writer friends. I would have been so alone and so much ‘in the dark’ about a million little things, if it were not for all of you amazingly supportive and generous people.

I want to thank you all today by giving you free rein to pimp your own blog and books or promote those of someone else, or both.

Please take as much space as you need in the comments section to do just that.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On to the Links!

I’m so focused on what happens AFTER you write THE END that the majority of this week’s links are related to self-publishing and marketing. I hope you find them useful.

If you’re planing to self-publish your book and you don’t follow Shelley Hitz, Self-Publishing Coach,think about it. Shelley offers tons of information to writers on social media, marketing, blogging, self-publishing, and a lot of free resources. This link will take you to her recent post about marketing in your own neighborhood.

The brilliant Jane Friedman offers 4 Ways to Immediately Improve Your Book Marketing Efforts. A must-read!

I recently discovered Catherine, caffeinated. Catherine Ryan Howard is a riot. More than that, her blog is everything self-publishing/marketing. Read her post, Selling Self-Published Books: The Amazing Amazon.

Thinking about broadening your marketing by creating an audio version of your book? Check out what NYTBS author, Bob Mayer learned by doing in his post, SOP for Authors Using Audible ACX.

Joanna Penn plays host to Ben Galley with his post, How Self-Publishing Can Give You Options For Your Author Career.

Now, the last link is about writing your first chapter, not self-publishing or marketing. That’s because I will be writing another 1st chapter in a couple of weeks I just LOVE Chuck Wendig and everything he writes! I hope you feel the same.

25 Things to Know About Writing The First Chapter

Have a fantabulous weekend! I expect to see all of you clicking your big hearts out as you go  tripping through the pimped and promoted links in the comments! I’m right behind you!

Don’t forget today is Life List Club Friday! Please go visit Sonia Medeiros at the Life List Club Blog now!

35 thoughts on “6 Super Awesome Links, Pimp or Promote Friday and THE END

  1. Congratulations! So many of us start out with what we think is a great idea and somewhere along the line we get discouraged and quit. Getting that first one done is a major milestone. You’re so focused, you’re bound to succeed.

  2. Congratulations! Well done! Way to go! I know just how you feel! You said you would do it by May 31 and you did! I’m so happy for you and can’t wait to read your book. It’s a very special accomplishment. I’ve basically been offline all week catching up on life but I noticed you asked about my editor and I’ll get back to you with the info. SOOOO happy for you! Thanks for the superfab links too!

    • Ah, thanks so much on the editor! So happy you can take a short break now before looking toward your 3rd! Thanks for the support, Patricia!

  3. What a terrific, amazing accomplishment!! I’ll never forget the feeling of THE END. Your synopsis is intriguing. I’m blog hopping tonight but it’s time to return for another #1K1HR of writing my wip so I’ll be sure to stop by again over the weekend and critique it. Right now I love it as it is! Can’t wait to read it. You’re making things happen, alright. Way to go, Marcia!

  4. Oh happy day! Congratulations, congratulations! I’m elated for you! You got to type the words The End! Give those revisions hell, Lady! I’m rooting for you all the way!

  5. CONGRATS, Marcia! Such an incredible accomplishment, and a fun new beginning. 🙂 Love your title and premise—WOW. The one thing I might suggest is cutting back on pronouns—use her name again in place of ‘her’ and/or ‘she’.

    Great timing as I’ve just plotted my own first pimp/promote party. The more the better, right??

    I’d like to do a futuristic pimp/promote. On Monday, I’ll be posting an interview with a phenomenal woman who was attacked and escaped a rapist. That’s just the beginning of her awesomeness. In that post, there will be a link to her blog, which is what I most want to promote—along with her message of awareness, self-advocacy and survival. Her story deserves all the eyes and ears it can get.

    • She sounds like a woman I need to hear about, August! I’ll be there Monday! All your regulars will certainly tweet about her!
      Thanks for the tip on the pronouns…that will make it read better. I’m glad you like the title and the premise…those are the things I struggle with. You’ve put a smile on my face!

      • Thanks so much for the support, Marcia! I’ve decided to post Keri’s story Tuesday.

        That pronoun note was totally nit-picky, by the way, as I LOVED the whole darn thing. 😉 Can’t wait to read it someday!

  6. Congrats, Marcia. I keep waiting for mine to get back from the formatter so I can send it to Amazon. Meanwhile, I’ve got to figure out how to redo my website and add a trailer for the book. Hope you have people like Jillian Dodd and Nige Blackwelll around you to help with yours.

    • Thanks, David! Hopefully it won’t be much longer til you get your MS back. You must have a ton of help and resources since you’re close to Kristen. We can all use all the help we can get. There are so many tasks involved in self-pubbing! Good luck with it!

  7. Oh Marcia this is such exciting news…YIPPEE!!! Here’s a cyber hug of congrats honey….I cannot wait to get my hands on this book especially after reading your synopsis….and I will bookmark the page with all its great links I hope to use in the near future….oh I am doing such a happy dance for you!!!

  8. Oh Marcia this is so exciting…I am dancing with happiness for you!! I cannot wait to get my hands on it especially after this synopsis…I will bookmark this page with all its wonderful links…I hope to get moving on a book or 2 soon…oh I wish I could give you a congrats hug…so take this cyber hug honey!!! YIPPEEEE!!!!!

  9. Yeahhhhhh….congrats Marcia – that is a huge accomplishment and we are all soooo proud of you!! Hooorah!! Enjoy some celebrating before you get onto the editing and revising!! The books sounds ahhhmazing!!!

  10. First, Marcia, WOO HOO on your big finish!

    Second, gotta tell ya, a little voice inside me groaned when I saw the links with writing advice. I am up to my black moment with writing advice. I clicked anyway. Clicked again. Clicked again.

    Thanks for the fabulous resources.

    • I know what you mean, Sherry. I’ve had many moments like that myself when I just .can’t. read. one. more. writing tip. This time I was looking for, not fluffy advice, but practical information that we can really use. Thanks for clicking and I hope you found a little something that works for you. 🙂

  11. Woot, congrats! Big accomplishment, Marcia, enjoy the warm glow of a completed first draft 🙂

    As for Pimp and Promote: Click my name and visit my site (that’s the pimp part) – BUT FIRST – Go visit Jess Witkins site, she has a totally awesome blog with reviews, interviews, fun travel adventures, writing advice and more. Linkage -> http://jesswitkins.wordpress.com/

I love it when you tell me what you think!

