ROW80 – 1st Update – 4/8/12

Happy Sunday, ROWers!ROW80, a round of words in 80 days, by Kait Nolan

It’s been a pretty good 1st week. Take a look:

  • Write on short stories in progress 3 days/week with a weekly goal of 2000 words Didn’t write 3 days but did write to my goal of 2000 words
  • Plot outline of a 2nd short story idea Spent time this week brainstorming the theme for my story idea and writing character sketches.
  • Begin the publishing process of at least one short story This will hopefully happen in May
  • Exercise 5 days a week – at least 30 minutes each time Okay-not that great this week but, I did get in 3 days/30min each

Overall, I feel this was a good start for this round of ROW80. I hope you all have had a productive week as well.

For those of you who have been adding healths goals to your rounds, like me, I want to share something with you. As a woman, I know firsthand how it feels to have flabby upper arms…you know, the part that waves at someone, and I don’t mean your hand. Well I found THE exercise to get rid of batwings. FOREVER.  (This goes for the guys, too)

Tricep kickback exercise. No more flabby arms

When you tone your triceps, you can say good-bye to flab. Click here for a description of the exercise.

If you’re unfamiliar with ROW80, the challenge that knows you have a life, you can read all about Kait Nolan’s amazing challenge HERE. If you’ve participated before, here’s the link to get started again! To learn more about Kait, click HERE.

Please stop by my blog on Wednesdays this month for author guest posts. There are so many really wonderful indie authors and I have some of the best with me during April!

The Life List Club’s new blog launched this past Wednesday. We’ve had terrific response, so don’t miss it! We post every Wednesday and Friday. If you know someone who may be interested in guest posting on Mondays, please email me at Marcia DOT A DOT Richards AT gmail DOT com.

How are you feeling about your week? Please share!

20 thoughts on “ROW80 – 1st Update – 4/8/12

  1. These exercises for just what I need. Swinging my arms vigourously while on the treadmill isn’t working much. *grin* Sounds like you are making progress with your writing goals. Happy writing!

  2. Another great exercise that tones the arms as well as the neck area is arm circles. I do 3 sets of 25 forward/backward/small and large circles daily. It makes a huge difference in the saggy neck/chin as well as batwings.

    • Thanks, Callene, but don’t you think that flipping 200lb. rams burns a few calories? Just sayin’. 🙂 It’s true, we are all seriously impressed with that.

  3. Great work on getting the word count done in the time available! I’m going to give the exercise a try myself as I noticed that my batwings are starting to get a bit unwieldy lately – thanks for sharing that! 🙂

    • Thanks, Sharon! Let me know how that exercise works out for you. Another one that a friend has done religiously for years is holding your arms out straight at shoulder-height and moving them in tiny circles, forward and backward. Good for your shoulders, too.

    • I didn’t finish early, exactly, Ali. I only ended up with 2 days to write due to other commitments. I allow myself 3 days to do nothing but write and respond to comments on my blog. But family/personal obligations sometimes take one of my days away from me.

  4. hey Marcia.. sounds like you’re doing well on your goals… 3 days/30 minutes each is definitely a great start. I need to modify my goals to add exercise.. I forgot to add it this round.. DOH!

    Have a great rest of your Sunday, Happy Easter and I will see you around the blogosphere (and Triberr!).

    • Thanks, Darlene! Gotta remember the exercise…without it we writers would never have the energy to do anything else! Good luck and I’ll stop over.

  5. Good first week, Marcia. Maybe doing an extra 10-15 minutes of exercise on weeks when the number of days aren’t there? If possible, of course – I couldn’t even include this goal in ROW 2 because of the volatile nature of my schedule so take that suggestion with a grain of salt.

    Have a great coming week 🙂

    • Well, Gene, I just got a ‘dressing down’ by my son (my former trainer) who says I’m making excuses, again, and to just get it done! I wish we still lived in the same town so he could continue training me. So, I’ll keep working at it…you do the best you can do with your situation, Gene and don’t feel badly or pressured.

I love it when you tell me what you think!

