ROW80 – 3/18/12 Update – Signing Off Til Next Time

Happy Sunday to all my ROWer friends! ROW80

Again, these are my goals. Updates are in pink:

1. Continue with my 13-month Health Challenge. Read about that Here.   I did more exercise this week, but I’m still behind in my treadmill challenge with Gene Lempp. Check out more details on my health challenge in last week’s post, #HotWriterBods Health Challenge Update #3. Also have a list of things to implement based on blogs I’ve read this week, like Kate MacNicol’s post on aging that I reblogged on Wednesday.

2. Write on my projects – Claim a weekly total of 2,500 words. I didn’t write on my WIP this week, but I was productive. I’m piling blogs in my queue so that I can have the last week of the month to celebrate our anniversary and our youngest grandgirl’s 3rd birthday, without worrying about my readers missing anything.

Also, I have been doing a lot of thinking about my brand and how I want to be known. That has caused me to make some adjustments in what I write. I wrote brief 3-Act outlines for 3 short stories. When I ran out of short story ideas, I spent several late night hours scouring every book and magazine on my shelves. I was delighted to have come up with 3 more story ideas. I also have a personal story that I will turn into one that people would actually want to read. 🙂 I’m considering this progress.

3. Streamline my social media and support efforts so that I visit all my blogger friends and ROW80 friends over the course of each week.   I’m still behind on the blog reading and working at it – promoting is on track. Promo tweets are in good shape and I actually found time for some social tweets this week.

My new schedule I set up last week is working pretty well except for writing on my stories. Our grandson is with us this week, so I have had less time to work. Even so, I can see that the schedule will work. If you’re not sure what I’m speaking of, click HERE to read last week’s idea.

With only 3 days left in Round 1 and considering that I don’t check-in on Wednesdays, this will be my last update for this round. I feel good about my efforts this round and feel I’m on a better path in all things, writing, social media and health. And that’s what all this is about, right?

I’ve met so many new friends since my 1st round last July and love the cheerleader atmosphere we all have. So, I will be back for 2012’s Round 2 next month. Thanks to Kait Nolan for creating this challenge that has brought us all together.

Thanks to all the wonderful people I’ve met who have supported me on good and bad days. I promise to continue doing the same for all of you. So throw yourselves a party next Wednesday and heartily celebrate all your excellent progress.

See you in ROWnd 2!

Please check out ROW80 for yourself, if you’re not already involved! Creator, Kait Nolan, offers a flexible, supportive atmosphere for meeting your writing goals. There are so many awesome people involved and they make it so much fun! They are the best cheerleaders you could ever hope to have.

Please share your struggles and triumphs. How are you feeling this close to the end of Round 1?

Before you go:

I know I gave you lots of juicy links on Friday, but I have one more that’s really important. Joel Friedman hosts media expert, Dan Blank. Here’s a tidbit of what Dan says about Analytics and Author Platforms:

“The key lessons here today are about establishing a process for learning more about your audience, a process that you can leverage across many tools.

And before you shrug away the value of analytics, consider this: how can you improve what you don’t measure? I have seen far too many writers waste unbelievable amounts of time pursuing strategies to grow their audiences that “felt” right, but were completely ineffective.

When you measure performance, you acquire data that allows you to make educated decisions about which strategy is best to reach your goals as a writer.”

So, hop over to Joel’s blog and read the rest of Dan Blank’s post. I highly recommend it if you want to keep growing as a blogger and author!

Have a great week ahead!

16 thoughts on “ROW80 – 3/18/12 Update – Signing Off Til Next Time

  1. Great round, Marcia. I agree that seeking new story ideas is progress too! By the way, I’m re-thinking the branding aspect too right now. My ideas haven’t jelled yet, but there’s something going on. I appreciate all the links you’ve provided because they have given me a lot to think about.

    • I’m glad, Bridgette. Branding is a process. Jane Friedman says you can’t expect to get it all right quickly. It takes time to get to know your writing and your real voice, as well as how you want to be known. Good luck to all of us!

  2. Fantastic week Marcia and I love the story idea progress you’ve been making. Sounds very exciting and wonderful. And I hear you on thinking about your brand etc. It’s something that’s always sort of front and center for me as well and I’ve been pondering as well.
    It’s easy to get behind in reading. Sometimes I just clean out the entire inbox and start from scratch. LOL!!! Always remind yourself, no pressure!!!
    Happy Early Anniversary….I know you’ll celebrate wonderfully…squeeee!!!

  3. Marcia, I thought about you several times this week. How did it work out for you to do social media 3 days instead of 5 or 6? I think you were going to do 2 hours blocks of time.

    • By the way, you don’t stink, but apparently my spam filter does. 🙂
      It’s working out pretty well. Two hours works for me. But that doesn’t include visiting ROW80 blogs early Sunday mornings or responding to comments on my blog. Still I feel better–getting stuff accomplished but not overwhelmed. The only hitch is that I still have a backlog of blogs to read, so I’ve been trying to do that whenever I have a few minutes extra time. The goal is to not let them build up to 100+.
      Thanks, Ali…and sorry wordpress keeps sending you to the dumpster. 🙂

  4. Mapping out and adding new story ideas is indeed progress – nicely done. I’m afraid that I’m probably further behind in the health challenge then you – life is like that at times. I saw your comments on my site and think you are right about moving to maintain things at least for the time being.

    All the best in your writing and endeavors, Marcia. You are doing great and I’m glad to have a friend like you to keep me motivated and realistic.

    • Thanks, Gene, I’m grateful for you, for the same reasons. You’ve come so far with the exercise. I think if you do 3 days a week to maintain, or 2 days treadmill (or yard work) and 1 day of weights at home, you should continue to see results without it cannibalizing any free time you have.

      I’m not doing well this month on the challenge either…out of town too much and progress on weight loss is stalled which is discouraging. April should be a bit quieter and I’ll get back to a regular schedule. Right now just trying to squeeze in a day here and there.

      Thanks for the good wishes, Gene. I wish you much progress in finishing your WIP!

  5. Fabulous round Marcia! “I have been doing a lot of thinking about my brand and how I want to be known.” – I hear you. I’ve been trying to narrow this down myself. And happy anniversary 🙂

I love it when you tell me what you think!

