#HotWriterBods Health Challenge Update #3

It has been 3 months now since Gene Lempp and I began our Treadmill Challenge simultaneously with my overall health challenge. If you remember my first #HotWriterBods Health Challenge update on 12/31/11, I reported as having a rough month. So did Gene. I suppose we should have figured that plans during a holiday month could easily fall apart in so many ways. 

Mine did. December is not only the Christmas season which means traveling for my hubs and I, but it is also the month in which both of our birthdays fall. Add to that being needed to babysit my granddaughters and help move my Mom into an assisted living facility…well, it made for a very challenging month.

Treadmill

My exercise room

Here’s a recap of December’s progress:

  • Total of 3 lbs lost for the month.
  • Walked 30 minutes a total of 12 days

So, along comes January. Gene and I are both ready for it with bigger plans. Gene actually did better than I, but my month was far from a washout. My second #HotWriterBods Health Challenge update on 1/31/12 looked like this:

January’s progress: 

  • Total  of 8 lbs  lost for 2 months and 3″ disappeared from my waist and hips each
  • Increased my intake of fruits and vegetables slightly; cut the majority of sugar from my diet
  • Reached my goal of 16 walks and increased my speed by 3 mph
  • Added a second workout on 4 days of the final week for a total of 60 min exercise each day

Gene Lempp and I agreed to do another 60-day round of the treadmill challenge, and I’m so happy about that. Now, after three months, I can feel my body changing in small ways. I climb my double staircase with much more ease. I have more energy. My clothes are getting loose. It’s a great feeling.

During February and March, I had planned to increase my speed on the treadmill to 3 mph and walk 40 days out of 60. I was to lift weights 15 minutes 3 times a week; write down all my foods and balance my intake of carbs and proteins, making better dinner choices. I planned to lose 10 lbs in 60 days. Here’s a look at how I’m doing so far:

February progress:

  • My treadmill speed is now 2.8 mph and I recently began walking on an incline; still at 30 minutes.
  • Hubs and I are now going to the gym twice a week for 60-minute sessions of weight training and a 30 minute walk.
  • I was a borderline diabetic, but my glucose levels are now normal.
  • I’ve lost another 3 lbs. for a total of 11 lbs lost.
  • Dinners have been fine-tuned to healthier options.
  • My monthly facial couldn’t be managed this month but, my daughter and I did get manicures and she showed me a new way to do my eye make-up that I love!

If you remember my original post on Marcia’s Health Challenge, my Real Age according to Dr. Mehmet Oz’s Real Age website was 57.3 on December 1st, 2011. Due to the changes I made my Real Age dropped to 56.9 by January. After 3 months of making a sincere effort to improve my health, my Real Age is now 56.4! I wonder…how low can I go?

Chicken soup

Quick Tip:

You have probably heard the advice to drink a glass of water before a meal so that you feel full faster and eat less. However, your body recognizes it as water and disposes of it too quickly to have the effect you want.

Here’s a better way according to John La Puma, M.D. – Eat foods that are full of water, instead. You’ll eat less calories and lose weight. Some great foods full of water are: fruits, vegetables and broth-based soups. “Large enough portions of thick soup or a smoothie stretch the very end of the stomach to turn on the hormone CCK (tells the brain when you’re full) and turn off hunger.

If you eat chicken and rice with a glass of water, your body recognizes the water as water and flushes it out. If you make a soup with chicken, rice and broth, your body identifies the water as food and you’ll feel full faster.

I hope you’ve made significant progress in the months that you’ve been following mine. I’d love it if you’d share that with me! Your positive comments are feel-good motivators that keep me working hard. I’d love to do the same for you.

Come back to visit me on March 31st for my next #HotWriterBods Health Challenge update. Please join me on Twitter at the same #.

Your turn to share!

25 thoughts on “#HotWriterBods Health Challenge Update #3

  1. Pingback: ROW80 – 3/18/12 Update – Signing Off Til Next Time – Marcia Richards

  2. Pingback: ROW80 – 3/11 Update – Good and Bad News – Marcia Richards

  3. Pingback: ROW80 – 3/4/12 – Moving Forward – Marcia Richards

  4. This is a fantastic update, Marcia! (I love how you re-capped every month. It made it so easy to follow along.)

    I didn’t know that about the water. I’ll have to share that tidbit with my daughter who always preaches about drinking 2 glasses of water before a meal. (Which I don’t like to do!)

      • Thanks, Bridgette! My workout room is actually my library. I’d dreamed of having one for many years…that’s just one dream come true when I met my husband. 🙂

        I personally love it when I can be smarter than my daughter. Ever since she turned 16 (14 yrs ago) I have felt I had to prove her that Mom knows as much or more than she! Enjoy that!

        Glad you liked the recap…I had to do it to see how I had done, myself.

  5. Wow, go girl! This morning I pulled out my step machine and kicked off using that again….followed by 100 crunches. For 10-15 minutes a day, I really don’t have any excuse NOT to do it 🙂

    • That’s a great way to get started, Donna! Good for you! I keep telling myself that, too…okay so you’re tired or you just don’t feel like it….15 minutes won’t kill you. Whatever we work in is better than spending that 15 minutes on our behinds!
      Keep it up, girl!

  6. You are kicking BUTT Marcia – I love it. Such an inspiration. I’ve really fell off the wagon the last few weeks but am committed to getting back on track this week! 🙂 Your commitment and success definitely helps motivate me to stick to the plan! 🙂

    • Oh good, jump back on, Nat. It is hard to get started again after being away from it for a little while, but you can do it! I’d be happy to give a virtual kick in the butt any time you need one! Thanks for coming by!

  7. Pingback: ROW80 2/26/12 Update – Marcia Richards

  8. You’re doing awesome. Slow and steady wins the race, so even with a setback you’re still ahead of the game. That soup looks delish.

    Good on you and Gene for continuing the challenge. You can do it!

  9. Congratulations, Marcia and Gene on staying active and healthy. You both are an awesome inspiration. Awesome job on loosing pounds and inches – wow!

    I did the Real Age Test and it came back four years younger than what my birth certificate shows 🙂

  10. Congrats to both you and Gene, Marcia! Great news about the now-normal glucose levels. After blood test results in Jaunary, I had to change my diet. I’m now gluten-free and dairy-free, in addition to my low-sugar, low-fat diet I was already on. At first I was very upset (AND VERY HUNGRY!) Now I feel much better and the health complaints that had precipitated blood tests have dissipated.

    If you recall, I took a tumble back in October and since then have been doing PT three times per week. The good news is I can finally resume my treadmill routine at home in addition to my PT workout! I’ll be exercising alongside you both, at least for the first 7 minutes of your daily walk. 🙂 YAY!! Keep up the great effort. 😀

    • Wow! Jolyse…I’m virtually jumping up and down for you! That is a ton of great news! I’m happy you feel better and that you can get back to the treadmill. Not only is spring coming with all its fresh air and sunshine, but you’ll be feeling it inside, too, from all your progress! YAY!

  11. Love your challenge and didn’t know that about water. I’m trying to drink more green tea, which I like anyway so I’m doing that more than coffee. Won’t be a lot of healthy food at my oscar party, but it will be savory.

    I really want to check out the Real Age survey cause I think that will be eye opening. Thanks for sharing the link, Marcia. And good luck with your hot writer bod! Let me know if you want that workout cd?! I told you, if you don’t mind J. Lo, you’ll love my mixes. 😉

    • I like J Lo! And I’d love the CD! I’m late getting responses out here, so you’re Oscar party is over now and can’t wait to hear how it went…what did you wear, what kind of food did you have, what crazy games did you all play?
      I’ll bet you’re real age is somewhere in the teens, Jess! Now if only you could keep it there all your life–woohoo!

  12. When you consider that our bodies were desgned to be on the move and that fast and processed food didn’t exist at the time of our evolution/creation, no wonder we have so many health challenges today.
    You guys are doing great. Keep it up!

    • You are so right, Diana. In the last 60-70 years, so many changes in our lives have made us lazy and fat—motor vehicles which meant less walking, processed foods for the working wife to get dinner on the table faster and making us fat at the same time, the development of suburbs which meant having to drive everywhere. Then with all the new technology we got lazy in every other aspect of our lives…most of us don’t write letters anymore or rarely even talk on the phone, sit in front of the TV too much, washing machines and dishwashers do all the work for us…it’s sad. Makes me want to teleport back to the 1940s before all this stuff came about and people were healthier.

  13. You’re doing fantastic, Marcia! It is great feeling to see the body trim and experience the energy and increased mental acuity that comes with shaping up. Glad to be one of your partners in exercise and I hope others will join us on #HotWriterBods and see the results for themselves. Exercise is one of the primary keys to productivity – enjoy in good health 🙂

    • Thanks, Gene! I have quite a ways to go, but progress is satisfying and motivating! Thanks for your support. Having a workout buddy helps in staying on track. I hope you’re doing well also and feeling good!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

