ROW80 – 2/5/12 – Hits and Misses

Happy Sunday!ROW80

With the milder winter most of us have been having, I hope you’ve had an easier time of brushing off the holiday letdown we talked about in my 10 Tricks to Ward Off the Holiday Blues at Gary Gauthier’s blog a few weeks ago. The view of grass rather than dirty snow and ice is uplifting for me.

So, my head is really into completing all my goals…my ROW80, #HotWriterBods and The Life List Club goals.

I wish you the same concentrated focus on your goals this year!

Updates are in pink:

  1. Continue with my 13-month Health Challenge. Read about that Here. Gene Lempp and I have renewed our 60-day Treadmill challenge. Gene’s new goals will be post on his site soon. I won’t give a way what they are but I will tell you he’s ramping it up! Last week, I posted new goals for the 60 days from February 1st to march 31st in #Hotwriterbods Health Challenge, so please go see how I’ve made this challenge…uh, more challenging! 
  2. Write on my projects – 4-5 days per week for a weekly total of 2,500 words. Again, I have not written that many days on my short stories an I haven’t made my goal. I’ve written 25% of it and no excuses as to why I wrote so little. Next week WILL be better.
  3. Streamline my social media and support efforts so that I visit all my blogger friends and ROW80 friends over the course of each week. Tweeting, also, for my friends to help promote their work.  SCORE! I think I’ve finally got it managed!

I’m disappointed in my lack of desire to write this week, but will force myself to get back to it starting tonight! The rest of my goals are on track and I’m excited about that.

If you haven’t tried a writing challenge before, ROW80 is not intimidating or full of pressure. It’s the challenge that knows you have a life. Set reasonable goals and work at meeting them each week. So many ROW80 veterans will tell you that they’ve learned a lot about themselves and the best methods they’ve found to get the job done.

Please check out ROW80 for yourself! Creator, Kait Nolan, offers a flexible, supportive atmosphere for meeting your writing goals. There are sooo many awesome people involved and they make it so much fun! Meet the Sponsors, too. They are the best cheerleaders you could ever hope to have.

Thanks for all your support! I hope your week went well. Please share with us in the comments. What are your struggles?

24 thoughts on “ROW80 – 2/5/12 – Hits and Misses

  1. Making your self write when you aren’t in the mood is soooo hard. Sometimes I find myself doing other things to put off writing, then I remind myself it’s a daily job, whether I want to do it or not.
    Nice job with your goals. Keep it up!

    • You’re right, Diana. So glad you said that…”it’s a daily job…” Yes, even when I don’t feel like it,I have to push myself to do at least a little. Thanks for the, possibly unintended, kick in the butt!

  2. Pingback: yadseuT elat llat sdrawkcab « Ellie Ann

  3. Great job on your goals, Marcia, and on the exercise retooling! I’m off to check out the new challenge details in a few. Thanks also for your kick at my exercise goal (and lack of meeting it). My slacker bunny is doing the hokey pokey and thumbing his nose at me. He thinks since I sat around more last week, that I won’t get up and chase him. Treadmill, here I come!

  4. Now, see, I like that you didn’t offer any excuses for your lower-than-expected word count this week. That’s a lesson I can learn myself. (Oh, but, . . .)

    You do have the social media thing managed and I am putting a lot of your ideas in place too.

    Good luck on the writing this week. A down week can be great inspiration. (Ask me how I know.) LOL.

    • Okay, Miss Bridgette…how do you know? lol It actually has happened that way for me, too. I spent more time reaching out to new people and found ideas I hadn’t heard before that set me off to daydreaming about my WIP. Like Natalie taking a weekend vacation, and others who have taken time away from writing for one reason or another…it restarts the creative flow. Now tell me your story.

  5. My week was lack luster on the word count so I feel ya there. It’s not always easy to find the time to get the words on the page but alas, you rocked it out in other areas – going to check out your new goals shortly! Love it!
    Keep it up and here’s to a FAB week ahead!!!

    • Thx for commiserating, Nat. If it were that I didn’t have time, I wouldn’t beat myself up. I guess I just needed to walk away from it all for a few days.

  6. Great job with meeting your exercise goals, Marcia. I hope your Muse will return soon and you will write up a storm. I have days like that too – I do everything and anything to keep myself from writing. It used to drive me crazy but now I understand that my brain just needs time to recover from a high dose of concentration on plotting, character development, etc.

    Good luck this coming week!

  7. I read while riding a stationery bike (when I exercise-I’m so bad these days). Your health challenge is motivating too.
    I’m sorry you feel like your desire to write was weak last week. I’m so new at fiction writing that I can’t think of anything to say that might help. I can say as a newbie, what I see in you is a woman who accomplished her work and doesn’t quit. I admire you for that.

    • Ali, thank you. Wow, you put a big smile on face with your kind words. As far as exercising goes, why you join all of us in the health challenge. Start small and build up. Come on over to #hotwriterbods and play with us!

  8. ooh! Health Goals! Love it… Best of luck to you on the 60 day Treadmill Challenge. Sounds like something I need to get in on since I have been seriously slacking on the gym aspect of my goals.
    Don’t worry… your desire will return. 😀

  9. I love that you and Gene have really rocked your exercise goal Marcia! You guys are an inspiration. And okay you didn’t have the week you would have liked with your writing goals, but if you don’t tell, I won’t. LOL

    That what I like about Sunday. It’s the start of a fresh new week. And I know that you are gonna have wonderful writing sprints this week. So go for it! 🙂

  10. I got back on the treadmill this week and loved it, but mostly because I read while walking. Reading makes the time fly by so fast, it’s amazing. 🙂

    Great job on your ROW80 goals this week, Marcia. I’ll be thinking of you this week and sending you writing-vibes to help you reach your writing goal!

    • I keep working at it. I think it’s hard when you’re head isn’t really into it. I can’t explain exactly how to get your head into it, since it just kind of happens for me. But when you’re ready, it’ll be a breeze! Hope you’re doing well, Nicole!

  11. The recorder is a great idea! I’ll look into that. I do love reading while walking though. It makes the time fly and then I don’t feel deprived if I don’t have another chance all day to read.
    Oh, I’m so happy you got your quiet dinner alone! The Grey sounds like an exciting movie.
    Sounds an all-around great weekend for you…makes me smile!

  12. I used to carry a voice activated recorder with me on walks and use it to work out story ideas or sometimes “write”, transcribing it later. Wondering if that might be an option for treadmill walks for you, a bit of goal combination. Just a thought. By the way, I’ve learned to read while walking, which is one of the keys that gets me on that treadmill consistently.

    Oh – wife and I had a great time at dinner last night *grin* Went to see “Grey” afterwards, awesome flick.

    Have a great week, Marcia 🙂

I love it when you tell me what you think!

