ROW80-Workin’ It!

Welcome back for another ROW80 progress update.ROW80

Please check out ROW80 for yourself! Creator, Kait Nolan, offers a flexible, supportive atmosphere for meeting your writing goals, as well as other life goals. There are so many awesome people involved and they make it so much fun! Meet the Sponsors, too. They are the best cheerleaders you could ever hope to have. Don’t forget to go visit some new-to-you blogs and cheer them on in their journey.

I had a really good week again–though not the ‘jumping up and down-hootin’ an hollerin’ kind of week this time. My goals are:

  • Continue with my 13-month Health Challenge. Read about that Here.  My health goal is to walk 30 minutes, 4 days a week. Score again! AND I’ve lost 2 more lbs since last week. In the Treadmill challenge  with Gene Lempp we had set a goal of 32 walks in 60 days. We are on Day 46 and I have completed 20 walks. Just 12 more before the end of the month to meet my goal. Oy!

Come join me and my friends at #2012healthchallenge in getting fit and healthier this year! Tell me in your comment what you need to work on. Any small change in movement or eating is a step in the right direction. Put several steps together and you make a big difference in how you look and feel. We have a new Facebook page to meet at and talk about our own personal challenges. Please join me there!

  •  Write on my projects – 4-5 days per week for a weekly total of 2,500 words. I didn’t do as well as last week. I had a couple of ‘off’ days, but I did write a total of 1,000 words for the week and I worked on fleshing out my outlines for my various short stories.  I feel I can now get back into powering through the writing.
  • Streamline my social media and support efforts so that I visit all my blogger friends and ROW80 friends over the course of each week. Tweeting, also, for my friends to help promote their work. I did less tweeting this week but more blog reading and commenting. I did tweet and facebook all the blogs I visited. I plan to do more tweeting, since I’ve streamlined my list of blogs.

If you haven’t tried a writing challenge before, ROW80 is not intimidating or full of pressure. It’s the challenge that knows you have a life. Set reasonable goals and work at meeting them each week. So many ROW80 veterans will tell you that they’ve learned a lot about themselves and the best methods they’ve found to get the job done. So jump in!

I hope all of you had good weeks, too! Please share with me…I’ve got my pompoms ready!

33 thoughts on “ROW80-Workin’ It!

    • Well, I don’t walk outside. I use the treadmill and a walking DVD. The DVD’s are great because you can fool yourself into believing you’re not alone. And the workouts are great!
      Have a good week!

  1. A great week Marcia!!! Woot woot on the fitness goals – wowzers! Congrats…that’s awesome and you are a fantastic inspiration. And the writing sounds VERY productive as well. Here’s to another great week ahead!!

  2. Can you write a post about streamlining? I could surely use that!

    Sounds like you had a good week. And I’ll take a good week, even if it isn’t toe-curling, over a bad week anyday. 😉

    Best of luck with the week to come.

  3. Wow Marcia! I think you’re doing a fantastic job. I’d love to connect with you on your healthy challenge on twitter when I return from out of town. I’ve been exercise four days a week too and in February I’d like to pick it up to five.
    Keep up the good work!

    • Yay! Kate! I’d love to have you with us on the health challenge. Being held accountable is a tiny bit uncomfortable for me and that’s why it’s working so well. I’m working on moving into a steady 5 days a week, too. See you when you get back!

  4. Marcia, it sounds like you had a wonderful week, even if you did fall a little short with the writing. I love the idea of this 2012 health challenge, and I’ll be sure to check out the Facebook page. I’ve got a goal to exercise for at least 30 minutes a day, 4-5 days each week. I pretty much fell flat when I tried it out last round, so I am aiming to get on track this round.

    Have a wonderful week to come!

    • Oh wonderful, Lena! Meet up with us on Twitter, too. When I think about it, a half hour a day doesn’t seem like too much to ask of myself to stay healthy, so why is it so hard to ‘fit it in’? I finally realized it’s all about priorities. In fact, it has become a higher priority than writing now, for me. I don’t want to tell you how long it took to get that idea set in my head!

  5. Awesome job with your Health Challenge goal. You just inspired me to start counting my walks! Great idea.

    I didn’t do very good on my writing this week either but I’m planning to get super serious next week.

    Streamlining the social media is my immediate goal. I hope Triberr will do that seamlessly 🙂

    Have a wonderful week. I will be back here Wednesday!

    • Thanks, Angela! Good for you counting your walks. I think making yourself accountable is the best way for most of us to stay on track. I’ve begun writing down everything I put in my mouth and I know exactly how many calories, protein grams, etc I’m getting. I know when it’s okay to have a treat of some kind and I can see a huge difference in my behaviors now.
      See you Wednesday!

  6. This is my first time trying ROW80 and I’m loving it. The check ins keep me accountable and the fact that it is so flexible means that I just keep going instead of falling so far behind that I get stressed and quit. I wrote less than i meant to this week, too, but I feel like it’s okay, because I did write something. 🙂 Good luck with this coming week!

    • I know what you mean. If I could afford it, I’d pass my treadmill on to you and buy an Arc Trainer, which I’ve found is THE most awesome of machines. You burn way more calories than walking and it has some resistance to it, if you want that. My butt and thighs looked so awesome when i was using that machine everyday. The gym where i live now has one, but I’m terrible about taking that much time out of my day to go to the gym. The treadmill was the next best option. I also use a walking DVD which gives me a slightly different workout than the treadmill walking. I’m using Leslie Sansone’s Walk AWay the pounds and really like it.

  7. you’ve done well this week –
    I went over to your challenge page then got directed to real age – with a lot of counting on my fingers and muttereing I filed in endless forms!! dividing stones into lbs and saying why can’t I explain i got to the news that I am 3 years older than I should be – I thought way hay thats better than I texpected – considering the past 10 yrs of my life (stress depressions accidents illness and operations) 3 years is b****** good – not perfect mind and I am trying to make this year finally my year of regaining some of that lost fitness. You and gene are to way ahead- I’m counting sucess at 5 mins more a fortnight at moment and not even bothering with losing weight until exercise improves – my diet is okay and although I eat more than exercise I am on the lowest calorie count thats healthy – I’m not gaining:)maybe if I lose couple more stone I can reduce my age.
    couldnt watch the movie couldnt get link to work shame I like wild thing!!

    all the best for coming week

    • Hi Alberta. Sorry I’m late in responding but your comment got lost in outer space. You can join our challenge and set your own goals. You’re right to start slow and work up it. It sounds like you’ve had a very rough few years. Why don’t you begin with me on February 1st at your own pace and just set a goal of whatever seems reasonable for you. Trust me that reaching a goal, any goal, is a great feeling and it spurs you on to wanting more successes. You’ll get lots of support from the rest of us. Think about it and let me know. On Jan 28th I’ll be doing an update on the treadmill challenge and encouraging everyone to continue on with me. Come over that day and jump in with us!

  8. Good for you! I have a friend with a Wi-fitness and it’s so much fun! My husband had to call her yesterday to make me come home for dinner. I didn’t want to get off. I haven’t gotten involved in ROW80, but I think I need to learn more about it. I’m still struggling with managing my time. Hope your coming week is great!

    • I have Wii fitness and Wii Sports. I like the Wii sports better. You do burn some calories and it’s a blast. The Wii Fit I wasn’t as crazy about, but glad you’re enjoying it. It’s definitely worth the $130+.
      I think you’d like ROW80. It’s flexible in that you set goals that make sense for you and if you find you’ve set ones that are too aggressive, you can change them. The support you get is amazing. Having a public goal and reporting on progress every week keeps you accountable. But like anything else, you have to want to do it and stick with it–it always comes down to priorities. Have a wonderful week, Diana!

    • I’ll write a post about streamlining next Sunday with my ROW80 post. I know this is a huge problem for everyone. Yeah, Google Reader is the devil. I forget to go there and so my list of reading is about the equivalent of the height of the eiffel tower!
      Have a great week!

    • Awesome, Gene! I have to walk everyday, too, to catch up. YES!! We will succeed! Then we’ll ahve to play the song Eye of The Tiger and find some steps to run up, standing at the top pumping our arms in the air! lol

I love it when you tell me what you think!

