We Came, We Defined, We Conquered, a Guest Post by Sonia G Medeiros

It’s Friday the 13th AND it’s Life List Club Friday!

There’s nothing too scary here on this legendary frightful Friday…unless you count Larry, the snail, below. Larry’s a friend of the amazing Sonia Medeiros. Sonia is here today to show you how to emulate a snail so you really CAN get to the finish line successfully.

Enjoy Sonia’s post, then hop on over to Jess Witkins’ place where I’m going to show you how I tamed my inner social glutton.

Big News! As you’ll notice in our sidebars today, we have a new writer in The Life List Club, Lara Schiffbauer. Please welcome her by visiting her at Gary Gauthier’s place, because Jess is at her place. Oh, and David Walker is at Sonia’s while Gary is at David’s. and Sonia’s here while I’m…whew! I know! Confusing, huh? Just click on the names in my sidebar and you’ll find all of us. See you on the snail trail…er, bunny trail…oh, sheesh…see ya’!

Take it away, Sonia!

In a recent blog post, Kristen Lamb talked about defining our success as an author. It was one of those things where you say, in your best haughty french accent, “Well, duh. Of course we need to define our success. That is simply obvious. It is like, how you say, the nose on our faces.” Except, um…the more obvious something is, the more likely we are to overlook it. I mean, how often do you look at the nose on your face…you know, in a productive way and not an obsessively self-conscious, oh-my-giraffes-i-have-a-zit kinda way?
Whaddya mean “What do I mean by productive?” I don’t know…that’s beside the point. Moving on…
We have to define our success to know when we’re successful as a writer (or with any goal). If we don’t know where the finish line is, how do when know when we’ve won the race?

finish line

Finish Line by Purrrpl_Haze on Flickr The crowd goes wild as Larry approaches the Iron Snail finish line!

And the thing is, our finish line isn’t necessarily in the same spot as everyone else’s. Maybe that spot is near and maybe it’s far. Maybe it’ll change over time as we learn more. But, until we mark it on the map, we’re just wandering around lost.
But what do you do when your finish line seems so far away as to be almost impossible to reach? That’s when you mark the mini-finish lines along the way. Just as any big goal can broken down into itty bitty baby steps, the path to the big finish line can be broken down into mile markers and rest stops. And…
Every mini-finish line crossed is a success, every bit as important as the “big one.”
My first next mini-finish line is to complete the first draft of my fantasy novel. After all, I can’t really move on in my writing career without at least one novel.
Of course, finish a novel is a huge finish line in itself (especially for a newbie like me). So…the journey to that mini-finish line can be broken down into mini-mini-finish lines (scenes and pages), each one a success to celebrate once it’s reached.
All of those mini-finish lines and mini-mini-finish lines kinda get me revved up for the journey. I can’t wait to get started. So maybe that “big one” finish line isn’t quite so far off after all.
Have you marked your “big one” finish line? Do you have your mini-finish lines in place? What’s your next mini-finish or mini-mini-finish?

sonia medeirosSonia G Medeiros is a writer of fantasy, science fiction, and horror. She’s the author of more than a dozen short stories and flash fiction pieces, blogs at WordPress, and is working on her first novel, a dark fantasy. When she’s not wandering along the tangled paths of her wild imagination, she wrangles home life with one fabulous husband, two amazing, homeschooled children, a part-alien half-chihuahua and two cats who battle each other for world domination.

Thank you, Sonia, for confirmation there really is a way to successfully reach our end goal! We always love having you here at Sexy, Smart, From the Heart…because you’re one Smart cookie!

Okay, now go blog hopping! >>

18 thoughts on “We Came, We Defined, We Conquered, a Guest Post by Sonia G Medeiros

  1. Pingback: The Blessings of Social Media by David N. Walker | Sonia G Medeiros

  2. I enjoyed your post Sonia. Everything you said rings so true. I remember back in the college days when a ten page paper seemed like an insurmountable task. So you know what the genius strategy for the big job was? Wait til the last few days!

    I guess when you’re under the gun, you have to perform. The smarter option would have been to write a page a day and I would have a first draft a week ahead of time! I also find that once I start a project and get it going, it’s never as big as I had originally imagined.

    • Oh boy oh boy…I wIas totally the queen of last minute papers in college. That’s a hard habit to kick. I’m so glad I’ve got LLC and ROW80 to teach me better habits. And you’re right…it’s never as big as it looks in the beginning (or sometimes it’s bigger but still doable as long as we break it down).

  3. I am a big fan of the mini-mini-finish, and love how you equate it to rest stops and mile markers on the journey to goal completion! I have a ton of mini-mini-finishes, and actually have made those many of my Life List goals. I figure I have a better chance to success if I have several small goals that lead to The Big One. Larry’s photo is sure beautiful, by the way!

    • I’ve definitely learned that success breeds success. The more we celebrate the little wins, the more we want to motivate. LOL about Larry. He’s a pretty good mascot for the goal getting. 😀

  4. Wow! Do we know how to set and reach goals, or what! Another fabulous post, Sonia. We are all going to become your loyal ‘baby steps-mini finish line’ followers!

  5. Great post, Sonia. For the first time ever, I set up mini-goals for the books I want to work on this year. I’m shocked that I did it so we’ll see how it all comes out at the end of 2012. 🙂

  6. Smart post, Sonia! I have to remind myself of mini-,mini finish lines so I don’t get up in the “I’m not the fastest” hullabaloo. It’s my biggest battle. I will add that to my own writing goals this year: giving myself some mini finish lines to achieve. Thanks for the tip!

    • I hear ya. I have to force myself not to compare my progress to some of the other super-fast writers. I can’t follow someone else’s timeline. I can only follow mine. I can push myself to go faster as I go on but only if I don’t sacrifice my sanity and love of writing in the process. 😀

  7. Great post Sonia! I have recently adopted the 500-words-a-day strategy Gary talked about in a previous LCC guest post at my place .So I think I’m going to make each month that I still with it and write at least 500-words at least 5 times per week my mini finish lines : ).

  8. Thanks, Sonia, for mentioning my Hershey Kiss blog. I’m so glad you’re reminding everyone to celebrate the goals along the way to the BIG one — too many good writers get discouraged, and quit. Like Randy Pausch said (if you haven’t read his book, go get it now – it should be required reading for every writer!)

    Roadblocks are there to stop people who don’t want it as badly as you do.

    Write on!
    Laura

    • I loved that post! It was such a good reminder to me. I was starting to get discouraged that I wasn’t doing what I thought I “should” do (never mind that I’d written previously about not listening to the should-shouldn’ts LOL). Your post reminded me to savor the moments on the way. I’m definitely going to get my hands on Randy Pausch’s book!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

