It Wouldn’t Be Christmas Without…

More Christmas Cookies! 

I’m offering you two more family favorites. Naturally, these cookies have chocolate in them!My former Italian mother-in-law had a strict rule of not passing on her recipes, but I had Italian friends who shared with me instead. I hope you enjoy them.

This first recipe is not technically a Christmas cookie but, since I only make them at Christmas time, they morphed into a traditional Christmas favorite. My family and friends count this cookie #2 in their favorites. What’s #1? If I gave you that recipe, I’d have to shoot you. Top Secret, you know.

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

  • 1/2 C. butter, softened
  • 1/2 C. peanut butter
  • 1/2 C. granulated sugar
  • 1/2 C. brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 C. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 large bag miniature Reeses Peanut Butter Cups

Mix together all ingredients, except peanut butter cups. Form into 1″ balls and place into small muffin pan cups. Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes. When removed from oven, immediately sink a peanut butter cup in cookie center. Cool in muffin pan til just warm. Remove from pan and finish cooling on a wire rack. Makes about 40 cookies.

Note: Unwrap the peanut butter cups while the cookies are baking. if you wait til the cookies are done, the centers of the cookies will sink before you get the candy in them. Then the candy won’t stay in as well.

Another coveted recipe – like potato chips, you can’t eat just one!

Chocolate Italian Cookies

  • 2 C. granulated sugar        
    chocolate italian cookies

    image source - Jess Gambacurta @ Flickr.com

                                

  • 8 C. flour
  • 2 C. cocoa
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 3 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp.  black pepper
  • 1 C. chopped nuts
  • 1 handful raisins
  • 1/2 lb. butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/2 lb. margarine, melted and cooled
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 oz. whiskey
  • 3 XL or Jumbo eggs, beaten well
  • 1 C. milk
  1. Mix dry ingredients, nuts and raisins.
  2. Make a well in center and pour in melted butter and margarine.
  3. Mix together vanilla, whiskey, eggs and milk.
  4. Pour into the well with the butter. Stir.
  5. Knead the dough until well combined.
  6. Oil hands and form dough into 1″-2″ balls.
  7. Baked on ungreased cookie sheets at 400 degrees for 8 minutes.
  8. Makes 8 dozen or more, depending on their size.

Buttercream Icing

  • 2 lbs. Confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 Tbls. vanilla
  • 1/2 stick of butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/2 stick of margarine, melted and cooled
  • colored sprinkles, optional

Mix well. Spread icing on tops of cookies, let dry.sign of the horns To thin it, you can use milk 1 teaspoon at a time to get the desired consistency.

Just so you know, my late Italian mother-in-law is giving me the evil-eye curse from above since I’ve given you my recipes. I’m giving her the sign of the horns to ward it off. You’re safe from it, though. Just promise to enjoy the cookies.  

Please share a favorite treat that you make during the holidays!

You know I love hearing from you! Jump in and share!

If you’d like to receive more posts like this, click that Sign Me Up button at the top of the page and you’ll get them freshly pressed and delivered to your inbox!

15 thoughts on “It Wouldn’t Be Christmas Without…

  1. I love making Pampered Chef’s Spritz Cookies:
    1 1/2 cups butter, 1 cup sugar, 1 egg, 1 t.vanilla, and 3 1/2 cups flour. Cream the butter, add all other ingredients gradually. Roll out, cut into shapes, and bake at 375 degrees for approximately 10 minutes. I also add a layer of thin confectioner’s sugar/milk icing and sprinkles.

    Thanks for the Italian cookie recipe, Marcia. Copied and in my recipe file already. 🙂

    • Oh, Yum, Jolyse! I sold my Pampered Chef Spritz cookie maker many years ago in a garage sale because I couldn’t get the hang of it. Looks like I need to buy a new one to try this recipe or maybe I’ll just use a pastry bag and tip instead…but I have to make this! Thanks for swapping recipes with me!

  2. Love what you titled this post, Marcia. So true! 🙂 Both recipes look amazing… My family makes a rendition of the PB cup cookies—so delicious! I’m not sure I’ve tried anything like your Italian cookies… Looks like I’ve missed out. Thanks for the keeper recipes!

  3. I’m not a fan of chocolate and peanut butter together but I know my guys would love them. The Italian ones sound absolutely delicious! May have to give those a try today 🙂

    Have a wonderful holiday!

    • Yeah, it’s a lot of dodging and weaving to avoid that evil-eye…she didn’t like me much–not Italian enough! lol
      I hope they all work for you. One day i’m definitely writing a cookbook! Have a great holiday!

  4. OMG they both look amazing but I think I’d opt for the peanut butter cup cookies. Amazing! My Mom always made 100 cookied and they are my fav. This weekend we baked shortbread cookies with cranberries and I was very pleased. Some other favs are Mom’s buttertarts and Dad’s bread toasted with loads of hot, melting butter. Gotta love Xmas goodies! 🙂 Tis the season…

I love it when you tell me what you think!

