Sweet Obsessions – Holiday Foods – Part 1

Thanksgiving

Photo courtesy of eastlaketimes.com

There is little more than a week left until Thanksgiving Day! Are you ready for it? Are you hosting your family?

As November inches us closer to winter, we begin that annual ritual…the one that comes so naturally to us that we hardly notice we’re doing it…we are preparing  for the coming of, what hundreds of years ago was hibernation, the season to  pull back from all the activity of summer. My friend, Susan Troccolo, said it’s called the deepening season. A time to slow down. Refresh. Strengthen our roots. Feed our souls.

 The Thanksgiving holiday offers us the opportunity to reflect on all that we have sown and reaped. Gratitude is abundant in all we do to prepare for the feast and the family time.

Thanksgiving turkey

Photo courtesy of sanzplans.com

I’ll bet everyday is a day of giving thanks for all of you. But Turkey Day is the big guy…the day it all comes together…football, turkey, pie and naps on the couch…SCORE!

Since food is a big part of this holiday, I’ll start you off with an appetizer that will impress your guests. I call it:

                                                      Pinecone Spread

8 oz. cream cheese           

 1/2  C. mayonnaise  

5 bacon strips, cooked crisp and crumbled

1 Tbls. green onion

1/4 tsp. dill

1/8 tsp. pepper

Toasted or Dry-Roasted Almonds

pinecones

Photo courtesy of 123rf.com

Mix all ingredients and chill overnight. Form the spread into 2 pinecone shapes. Press almonds onto the pinecones to resemble the scales of the pinecone. Serve with crackers.        

And if you are super short of time, this one takes seconds to put together:

Cheese and Chutney Spread

Place cream cheese on a serving plate. Pour half the jar of chutney over the top allowing it to trickle down the sides of the brick. Toast chopped pecans in the toaster oven for 3-5 minutes, stirring halfway through. Watch closely so they don’t burn. Sprinkle over the top of the chutney. Serve with crackers.

Hors d’oeuvres like this, as well as, hot dogs wrapped in pastry, shrimp cocktail and veggies with a savory dip are what my family nibbles on between breakfast and the turkey dinner.

What’s your favorite holiday snack? Please feel free to share a recipe.

Don’t forget – this Friday is The Life List Club! Please join us for more inspiration and laughs.

You know I love hearing from you! Stay and chat for a minute!

18 thoughts on “Sweet Obsessions – Holiday Foods – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Sweet Obsessions – Holiday Foods – Part 2 | Marcia Richards' Blog

  2. Pingback: Blog Treasures 11-19 « Gene Lempp's Blog

  3. One of the things I loved the most when I lived in the US was the way the holidays punctuated the seasons. After only seeing Thanksgiving on movies and sitcoms, I had dreaded a long, false day of relatives bickering. Instead, it became my favourite holiday, a time I would gather with friends (my adopted family) while the cold gathered strength outside, and all day we would cook together and then eat until we were stuffed. It was chock full of laughter and love and joy, something for which I will forever give thanks.

    • Oh I know. That happens to us on Christmas. We go to our 2 daughters’ houses. Never any leftovers. But after two big holidays in 2 months, maybe that’s a good thing. 🙂 Thanks, Diana

  4. Sounds delicious even for the kitchen-challenged such as I. In Canada we enjoyed our Thanksgiving a few weeks ago and I had a glorious turkey day. I might just have to enjoy another one with y’all…hehehe…

    • Thanks for coming by! Glad you enjoyed the yummy food. I did check out your blog and will go back again and again. Very interesting info on Italy and leather production. I have another friend who writes about France. I get to live vicariously throgh you both!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

