ROW80 Check-in and a Look Backward

Happy Sunday  Tuesday! (Note: I wrote this on Sunday, but time got away from me. So, instead of posting it at 8pm, I decided to wait until today so it would have its own place among my posts.)

Looking back on my week, I’m feeling pretty good about it.

Besides my ROW80 goals, I took on two additional projects which are cutting into my writing time but are well worth it. (One day I’ll learn not to take on so much at once.)

1) I’m attending an online class with Tiffany Lawson Inman. It’s helping me immensely with my scene writing and editing. I have at least two assignments each week, which take some time to study the lecture material and apply it to my work, then do the assignment. But, it’s going well.

2) I agreed to be a beta reader for someone close to me. Trying to read the novel in a reasonable amount of time and write a critique is also cutting into my writing time, but I wouldn’t have turned this down for anything. Not only am I enjoying it, I was honored to be asked to do it.

So, for meeting my goals this week:

  • I wrote about 1/3 of my weekly goal on my WIP
  • I’m up to 30 minutes of exercise 3 x this week-working up to 45 daily
  • Did not work on polishing my short story this week
  • Did all the commenting and tweeting for the week
  • I am now 2 weeks ahead on my blog posts and will try to maintain that.
  • I’m on track with my reading. Finished K.M. Weiland’s, Outlining Your Novel. Halfway through Roz Morris’, My Memories of a Future Life. Also, just started reading Wicked, by Gregory Maguire.

**I’m hoping to take the month of December off from my blog and blog-related activities to just write. I would still check-in at ROW 80 weekly.

That means I’d have to be a month (preferably more) ahead on posts. If any of my wonderful friends would like to help me out by guest posting for me in December, I’d be forever grateful and would certainly return the favor.**

Last, but certainly not least, writer friend, Haley Whitehall, bestowed up me the honor of being chosen for a blog award. Go ahead and look…see it over there on the right? It’s the Inspiring Blog Award. A big “THANK YOU” goes out to Haley.

Now I must choose my 5 recipients for this award. In no particular order, they are:

1. Justine Musk, at Tribal Writer, because every single time I read her blog I learn something. I learn to look at life or a particular topic in a new light. Thanks for that, Justine.

2. Leo Babauto, at Zen Habits, because he’s a work in progress like the rest of us. He’s working at changing his life, on step at a time, and it’s happening.

3. Darren Rowse, at Problogger, because he’s truly out there to help others be blogging successes, not to mention he knows what he’s talking about.

4. Larry Brooks, at Story Fix, because who knows better the mechanics of writing a great story. He’s encouraging and he’s damn smart.

5. Seth Godin, at Seth Godin’s Blog, because whether he’s talking about life, writing, marketing or anything else, Seth says it succinctly, on-point and he makes sense.

Okay, so I can’t choose just 5, so sue me.

6. Joanna Penn,at The Creative Penn, because she clearly defines how to market and self-publish, not just as a professional, but also as one who is experiencing all the joys and all the angst of doing it herself.

7. Anthony Stemke, at Grits and Groceries, because, well it’s a food blog written by a chef. “Nuff said, except that it’s awesome.

8. Danielle LaPorte, at White Hot Truth, because I love the way she thinks, she tells the truth on a variety of topics, and you’ve got to read her post on Bright Faith–it will truly inspire you to be uncool!

Now, none of these are my good friends that I hang out with everyday, but that doesn’t mean I don’t think you’re inspiring. I do. This list is kind of a gift to all of you. If there is a blogger on the list you haven’t seen before, I hope you’ll check out their blog and see if it’s one you could enjoy now and then. It’s my way of giving you a great big virtual slice of my dense, moist chocolate cake with fudge frosting!Inspiring Blog award

The writers of the blogs I’ve chosen may not put the Inspiring Blog award in their sidebar, but I hope they’ll know that they inspire me every week in so many ways…almost as much as my writer friends–you know who you are.

I hope you all had a productive week, but don’t beat yourselves up if it wasn’t stellar. Life happens.

You know I love hearing from you!

*Please let me know if you’re interested in guest posting on my blog during the month of December. Just email at marichards320 AT yahoo DOT com.

*Don’t forget this is Life List Club week! Join us on Friday when I’ll be posting at Lyn Midnight’s Blog and David Walker will be guest posting here. Come along on the blog hop…it’s always a hoot!

19 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in and a Look Backward

  1. Pingback: ROW80 8th Check-in – One month down!! | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

    • Oh, the class is great, Pam. I think it’s being offered again in January, but if you’re interested just google Margie Lawson or Tiffany Lawson Inman and you should be able to find a schedule.

  2. Thanks for your nomination Marcia – I really appreciate being in such esteemed company as the blogs you mentioned! Thank you for your support of my blog as well. It’s good to see your goal progress out there, I am loving putting my wordcount up whenever I add to it. Helps with the progress monitoring! Have a good week, Joanna

  3. Congrats on the award! Isn’t it interesting how blogging goals seem to be met more than writing goals? I don’t have blogging goals, but I definitely get more work done in that area than my WIP. (Question: do you think anyone reads blogs during the holidays? Just wondering if I should take a couple weeks off. 😉 )

    • I guess it’s just easier to let the book slide because the blog is there demanding you keep up with it every week. Plus blog posts are easier to write, don’t you think? People who read blogs all year definitely read them during holidays. It’s like reading a short short story…an escape. And if they really enjoy the writer, they look forward to it.
      When I say I’m taking the month off, that doesn’t mean i won’t have posts up. I wouldn’t be comfortable leaving my readers hanging for a month. They might not come back. I’ll still have all my regular days of posting, but I am trying to gather some folks to guest post on some of the days.. i’m working my butt off to get ahead with posts so I can comfortably take time to wite my book. i’ll still be responding to comments and checking in with Row80.

  4. Congrats on the award! You totally deserve it!!

    Well done on your goals, too. Taking on new projects can be tough, but in the end will be so rewarding. As you’re beta reading your friend’s book, you are also working on your own writing. Subconsciously, but that still counts.

    Yay! I’ve got new blogs to check out. Thanks for the great links to your recipients.

  5. I don’t know how well-versed I am, Natalie, but I did like KM’s book. The outlining works for me. It gave me a jumpstart on my story. Hubs said, when he saw all my index cards on the table, ‘well I guess the book is done!’ In a way it is, the planning is done. I’ll still add a few things and of course flesh out the scenes and characters.
    Tiffany’s class is going well. She’s so incredibly supportive! A couple of the assignments have been uncomfortable for me, but helping me grow as a writer. So, I actually love what it’s doing for me and it’s helping me look at all the scene components instead of just a few.

    I’d love to have you guest post for me in December if you can fit it in! Let me know.

  6. Busy and productive week! Beta reading is wonderful, I learn so much every time I’m honored with the task. Good luck with the upcoming week!

    Congrats on the blog award…I love Zen Habits too, so inspiring.

  7. Great work Marcia! I think I’ve ever once been ahead in my blogging schedule and that happened last week. I could offer to guest post in December. Just let me know the topic you’d like. I’ve also included reading my goals and I think it helps.

    Sounds fun to be a beta reader/critique partner. I hope someone asks me one day. 🙂

    Congrats on the blog award!! And I have to echo Natalie “soooo deserving!”

    • Oh, thanks so much Nicole, I’d love to have you guest post! And I would definitely ask you to be my Beta reader! You have a good eye. I’ll keep you posted when it’s ready for a read.
      Thanks for good wishes.

  8. Wonderful progress on your goals and it sounds like the two new projects are well worth the additional effort AND will ultimately help with your overall writing. I can’t wait to hear what you think of the online class with Tiffany Lawson Inman!
    And yeah on having 2-weeks worth of blog posts done – woot woot. I love your idea of “taking” December off to just write. Genius!
    What did you think of K.M. Weiland’s book? I just finished it but am not ready to start quite yet – wondering how a well versed author saw it? Will you apply it? Would you do anything in different order?
    And…last but not least – CONGRATS on your blog award – how wonderful!!! And sooo deserving!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

