Inspiration in Black & White

I’ve always been intrigued by old abandoned buildings. Who worked, lived or worshipped there? Sometimes the architectural details are fascinating, other times there is a presence of sorts-a feeling that a past resident of the space is lingering. While I have been fortunate enough to gain access to a few buildings, I long for more. I can liken my feelings to those who love to wander through graveyards.

I satisfy myself, lately, with photographs acquired by museums and libraries. They inspire me to create scenarios that may, one day, become full-blown novels or short stories. What comes to mind when you study these images? 

What's beyond...through the portico?

 

So many doors, what lies behind them?

Abandoned in a vast field of golden wheat, someone died here...who?

 

Look closely. Do you see the shadowy figure in the doorway?

 

Can you hear the strains of a long ago piano concerto?

 

 

Perhaps a murderer, cloaked as a wealthy businessman, resided behind this Manhattan portal

 

 

It's mid-1800s Europe. Why or for whom is she waiting expectantly?

 

 What story ideas came to mind? Historical fiction, Horror, Mystery, Romance, Thriller, Paranormal, Apocalyptic, SciFi, Fantasy…almost any genre would suit.

Are you up for a writing challenge? Choose a photo and write a 200-1,000 word story. Post it on your blog by October 5th and link back to this post.  No prizes, just some writing fun. But, I will choose one random story and will repost it on my blog October 12th.

Ready, Set, Go!

If you’re not in the mood for challenge, tell me, do you seek out unusual photos, graveyards, old buildings, ghost towns or anything thing else of interest?

You know I love hearing from you and anxiously await your comments!

Don’t forget to check out The Life List Club and see what we’re up to! Need some support in achieving your goals? Low on motivation? Our team of writer’s are here for you. Join us today!

If you enjoy this blog and would like to get freshly pressed posts sent to you, why not scroll up and click on the Subscribe button? Go on, I know you want to!

 

17 thoughts on “Inspiration in Black & White

  1. Pingback: Rocking and Waiting | Marcia Richards' Blog

  2. Pingback: Rocking and Waiting | Hawleyville

  3. Can’t promise, but I am going to try to do something for this by the 5th! What fun, and the 3rd photo is giving me a bit of that “creative twinge” although I’m not sure where its going yet : ). The shadowy figure in #4 gave me a delicious case of the willies!

  4. Thanks for the wonderful post that stirs the imagination. I would love to take the challenge and will examine my time crunch to see if I can do it. In the meantime, I often feel things when I am in old places, and even towns and cities, or sections within them, have a feel to them. I remember one time when my teen daughter and I visited a Native American site and she burst into tears. “Can’t you feel it, Mom?” At that time, I felt nothing but awe for my daughter.

    • I hope you find time to give it a try, Marion. The story about your daughter’s feelings is amazing! So many people experience some sort of feeling in old places…there must be something to it, right?

  5. Love the post, Marcia! You know how I love photography and often use it for writing prompts. I’m SO tempted to take up your challenge but with our flight back to Toronto on Friday and grandchildren (not to mention children) waiting … well, you know what I mean! Another time!

  6. I would take you up on the challenge in a heartbeat, but I have no time right now…if you do this again in the winter I am in…I love to visit abandoned places and graveyards and dream of the lives there…how they lived and loved…the clothes, the furniture…I imagine myself there…it is why I love old movies and period movies and period mysteries…I have been told I am an old soul…maybe that is it…visiting lives gone by…great post!!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

