Sexy, Sweet Obsessions

Feeling good mentally, emotionally and physically can make you feel sexy. One of my passions is offering folks ideas to incorporate into their daily routine that will make them feel good about themselves and their lives.

Finding exercise that is easy, while effective, that most everyone can do has been a quest of mine. What I have found costs next to nothing and can be done in 10 minute intervals. You can do it lying down, standing up sitting in a chair – you choose what works for you. These exercises are for those who are short on time, motivation or would rather not pay for a gym membership, let alone take the time to go – especially on cold, snowy days.

Most of us have obligations that leave us so little time to do good things for ourselves. We need a solution that fits with our lifestyle and I may have found it for you. There are options here for writers who sit at a keyboard most of the day, for people who have physical limitations, for those who want more core strength and better endurance…no room for excuses now! *yelling at myself*

9 Painless Ways to Get Fit

1. Tuck a resistance band behind a couch pillow to use during TV commercials. Stand on the middle and pull the ends to the front, back and sides for upper-body sculpting; tie it in a loop around your legs and do leg lifts in every direction to tone your thighs and butt. By the time your one-hour program is over, you’ll have had 18 minutes of exercise.

2. Store a balance dome under the couch and work on your core strength by standing on it during your favorite TV show. Add more benefits by doing bicep curls with light weights while balancing on the dome. Congratulate yourself for exercising  at least 30 minutes.

3. Have a mini trampoline getting dusty in the basement? Put it in your kitchen and march on for 5-10 minutes while waiting for your coffee to brew.

4. a.) Slip a set of wrist weights on while you vacuum or sweep and clean your way to stronger muscles and bones. b.) Kitchen floor need scrubbing? Use your feet. Use a damp cloth under one foot to scrub and a dry cloth under the other to dry the floor. Either chore means at least 15 minutes of exercise.

5. a.) As soon as you get up in the morning, do 10 tricep dips and 10 incline push ups. (Tricep dip = with your back to the bed, place your hands on the edge of the bed and lower yourself as far as you can into a squat. Incline push-up = Kneel on the floor facing your bed, place your hands on the edge of the bed shoulder-width apart and lower your chin to the bed.) b.) When it’s time to get dressed, stand on one foot and lift the other to put on shoes or pants, firming your core and increasing balance.

6. a.) Put your balance dome in the bathroom and stand on it while you wash your face and apply your make-up. b.) Move the dome out of the way and do squats while drying your hair. c.) If you have room for a non-skid step stool in front of your sink, do backward lunges while brushing your teeth. d.) While waiting for your shower water to warm up, do a set of crunches on the bathroom mat. Warm your muscles in the shower. When you get out, you’ll be ready for a few stretches.

7. a.) Leave a pair of dumbbells by your bedroom door. Grab them on your way out and do walking lunges down the hallway for your butt and thighs. Then leave the dumbbells in the next high-traffic spot for another round later. b.) Go up stairs two at a time, or one at a time as fast as you can. You can also try going up backwards – holding the rail – to increase balance and coordination. Or, go up sideways, crisscrossing as you step.

8. Keep an exercise DVD in the player all the time. Turn it on whenever you have 10 minutes to spare. Some good choices are Leslie Sansone’s walking videos; Joel Harper’s Energy Boosting Workout or Chair Workout; or Karl Romain’s Qigong (chi-gong) workout. I’ve used them all. Having more than one, gives you options depending on how you feel or how much time you have.

The first video is Leslie Sansone’s walking workout. It offers a taste of what the video series can do for you.

The second video is Joel Harper’s Energy Boosting Workout It’s long, but just watch a few minutes of it to get an idea what it’s all about.

If you have Osteoarthritis in your knees, like me, Tai Chi might be the best one for you. It not only gives a gentle but excellent workout, it also works on your Chi.

9. And finally, if you’re trying to add a few more steps to your day, (10,000 steps daily is recommended for good health. You can record with an inexpensive pedometer.) try these tips:

  • When grocery shopping, take an extra trip around the perimeter before checking out.
  • Instead of sitting in the car while your kids have a soccer game or dance lessons, take a walk around the block for 10 minutes.
  • Get off the bus, out of the cab or subway one stop early.
  • March in place while brushing your teeth, during TV commercials, or while cooking dinner. 
  • Take an after-dinner stroll with the family.
  • Pace while waiting in the doctor’s exam room.
  • Wander the room while chatting on the phone.
  • Make it a habit to take an afternoon brainstorming walk.
  • Going shopping at the mall? Walk the length of it before you shop.
  • Set a timer for every hour or two. Then get up from your desk and walk down the hall and back.
  • Go dancing! (For more inspiration click here)
  • And we’ve all heard – Park at the back of the parking lot and, take the stairs instead of the elevator.

It’s all working for me. I hope it can work for you, too. Get feelin’ SEXY!

What sort of exercise plan do you already have in place? Any additional ideas to share? If you don’t look for small ways to get in some exercise, what are you waiting for?

You know I love hearing from you and anxiously await your comments!

Losing weight and getting in better shape is one of my Life List Club goals. Keep me accountable, would you?

20 thoughts on “Sexy, Sweet Obsessions

  1. Pingback: Your Health! « Kate Wood's Blog

    • Lunges are awesome, if you can do them. Considering the smile I always read in your writing, I’d say you feel good all the time! Thanks for coming over, Jolyse.

  2. These are great suggestions Marcia! Even though I am doing the gym thing now and it is working for me (so much easier to get myself there when it is less than a mile from my house!) I might incorporate some of them into my “off” days. When I wasn’t going to the gym, I did try to do early morning or after-work strolls around the neighborhood 2-3 times a week and do some stretching every morning before getting ready for work. I also try to force myself to use stairs instead of elevators when I’m running around campus.

    • If you’re happy with your gym routine, go for it. I loved my gym back in my hometown and went daily. they had all my fave machines and weights. But here in this teeny town, the YMCA is all we have and their stuff is old as the hills. Even though I never have to wait for a machine, ’cause we’re usually the only ones there, I still hate it. Besides i can’t take a block of time anymore. Definitely do what works for you! And i’ll bet you’re gettin’ sexier!

  3. Just learned about an awesome campaign going on about people taking better care of themselves and using time wisely for them. Check out #mefirst on twitter, lots of links have been for healthy eating and fun exercise. And building on happiness! Love it!

    P.S. I hate that damn balance dome, it can suck it! I’ll stick with the handheld weights. LOL

    • Awesome tip, Jess! thanks. So, if you hate the dome, go ice skating, hop on one leg, sit on one of those giant exercise balls while typing or lifting your handheld weights. All those things work your core. No excuses!

  4. Oh, I just don’t like exercise. My head knows how important it is, but my heart whines and makes excuses. I learned Tai Chi once. I really liked it, but then I got out of that habit too, and now I can’t remember how to do it! *sigh*

    Reminders are always good. Thanks Marcia. 🙂

    • No excuses, Angela! Start taking care of yourself before you get to be my age and you;ll avoid a lot of health problems. Okay, no lecture, but go buy a Tai Chi DVD and get moving!

  5. Love this post Marcia! Thanks to you I have my resistance band tucked and ready under the couch. I’ve never owned a balance dome so that would be fun and challenging too. I’ve been so focused on “blocks” of exercise time, I’ve forgotton how easy it is to get in some activity in even when I’m swamped. It was good to be reminded. Thanks for the mention too!

    • Focusing on longer periods of time was my hangup too. I just can’t take two hours out of my day to go to the gym (besides I don’t like the one we have where I live now) and can’t spend the money right now to buy big equipment for home. I always hear trainers say you only need your own body weight for resistance and simple accessories, like the resistance bands, to work out with. It’s so much simpler. Thanks for coming over, Kate.

  6. Fantastic suggestions Marcia. I love how easy they are. I have been trying to tell myself that I could fit way more exercise into my day by just being a little more active right at work and you’ve just proved my point – to myself – yes…a bit weird! You’d think I’d trust myself by now! LOL!
    Loved it – thanks for reminding me how easy it can be. It’s about a commitment to living our own best life and feeling fit and healthy!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

