Celebrate, Celebrate, Dance to The Music!

kick up heels

I’m kickin’ up my heels in this Special Edition post!

September 2nd marked this blog’s 100th post! 

Thank you to all my readers for making this blog successful. I’ve enjoyed every moment of research and writing to bring you entertainment, information, and inspiration.

I also thank my Life List Club writers for sharing their excellent writing for my readers’ enjoyment, as well as, giving me the opportunity to return the favor.

Thanks to you, my loyal readers, my subscriber list has grown steadily and my page views have soared. I’ve chatted with so many wonderful and talented people over the last few months, whom I consider friends. I’d like to keep that momentum going and will do that by continuing to bring you quality posts that: take you back in time, make you smile, enlighten and intrigue you, and let you know we’re all in this game of life together.

To celebrate this momentous occasion, I offer you some amazing music: Three Dog Night‘s, Celebrate!

Three Dog Night is an American band that formed in the 1960’s, taking their current name in 1965. They have had 21 Billboard Top 40 Hits, three of which hit #1: Mama Told Me Not To Come, Joy To The World, and Black And White. They are still together, performing in 80+ concerts across the country annually.

Celebrate, hitting #15 on the charts, is my favorite of their long list of rockin’ songs. The video link here http://youtu.be/v7n_DWxJTwQ  is for the live performance of Celebrate in the War Memorial in Rochester, NY, about 90 minutes from my home. Back in summer of 1970, I had just graduated from high school and was preparing for college. Remember being 18 and feeling as though the world belonged to you? My ‘real’ life was just beginning. I could vote, drink and drive (not all at the same time, of course). I was out from under my parent’s rule. I was free!

Celebrate stirred that feeling further and united audiences everywhere. Wherever a local band was covering 3DN’s tunes, kids were on their feet, clapping their hands over their heads and singing along, loudly.

 That August, my best friend and I donned our skin-tight jeans, halter topsVolkswagon beetle and sexy, barely-there sandals. We climbed into my little green VW, rolled down the windows, inserted an 8-track tape of 3DN and took off for Rochester. The music blared from my car’s chintzy speakers and the wind ruffled my waist-length auburn hair as we drove to the arena in hopes of buying tickets from a scalper to see our favorite musicians.

We spent hours in the heat and humidity searching for someone who had a coveted ticket to sell. No such luck. We waited, instead, by the stage door with dozens of other kids like us til the concert was over, hoping to get an autograph from Danny Hutton, Cory Wells or Chuck Negron, the three lead vocalists. Before the band was rushed out the doors to their bus, the policeDanny Hutton pushed us out of the way,as if we were some kind of threat. There we stood screaming and reaching out to our idols hoping for a mere touch, even a glance or smile in our direction. Danny Hutton turned as I screamed his name and winked at me (I’m sure it was me he was winking at)!

We didn’t go straight home that night, but detoured to a local hangout, The Orange Monkey. 3DN’s music was playing on the DJ’s turntable all night. I ordered a grown-up gin-seven-and lemon, snagged the first ceiling-hung monkey chair I came across and spent the rest of the night dreamy-eyed over that wink of destiny with Danny. It was near dawn when we reached our hometown, and we were starving. We headed for breakfast at Dee’s, our favorite diner, hoping our parents wouldn’t realize we never made it to our beds.

Dress up tonight, why be lonely?
You’ll stay at home and you’ll be alone
So why be lonely?
Celebrate, celebrate, dance to the music
Celebrate, celebrate, dance to the music

Have any stories about your favorite band when you were 18? I frequently stayed out all night in those days…how about you?

You know I love hearing from you and anxiously await your comments…come chat with me!

If you’d like to make life a little easier, click the Subscribe button to get fresh pressed blogs in your inbox. Easy, Peasy!

ATTENTION! Don’t forget I am interviewing the awesome Jody Hedlund right here on Wednesday! I’ll be giving away a copy of Jody’s new book, The Doctor’s Lady, to one of my commenters on the interview! Please visit and give Jody some comment love!

17 thoughts on “Celebrate, Celebrate, Dance to The Music!

  1. Congrats, Marcia!

    As I’ve begun my blogging journey these past few months, I have met so many talented, NICE people from all walks of life. I consider you one of my new writer friends in blogosphere, and I’m one of your happy subscribers.

    Thanks for sharing your song. I bopped along to it it as I read your precious memories.

    I wish you much success and happiness in your writing career. 🙂

  2. Um where are the PHOTOS of you in that green VW bug with tight jeans and haltertop and waist length hair? I would love to see that!

  3. Congrats on the 100 posts…I saw 3DN 3 times in Syracuse in the late 60s early 70s. Started with a concert in 69 with my sister…we were waiting for my dad to pick us up (7th and 8th graders don’t drive) and all of a sudden a limo stopped in front of us. The few fans left saw them thru the windows screamed and before I knew it we were all over that car…pretty cool to see them…I loved Corey myself…seeing Elton John at Rich stadium the summer of 75 was the 18 yr old concert adventure. Amazing concert for 3 hours with John Cougar (Mellencamp -unknown and one obscure hit) and a just starting Boz Scaggs…Kiki Dee was there to sing her hit duet with Elton. It rained of course but who cared…

  4. Marcia, Saturday morning is a time when I can luxuriate with blog reading, and this is a marvelous way to have begun today. I can see you and your friend so clearly in your VW bug. And 8-track tapes! Now that’s a blast from the past…

    When I was 18 I cranked Survivor’s “Eye of the Tiger” as loud as I could all summer long. Thank you for the nudge to remember.

    Congratulations on your 100th post and a fantastic blog. 😀

I love it when you tell me what you think!

