23 thoughts on “Back to the Drawing Board

  1. Great post. I find it difficult to re-evaluate my goals, kinda like I need to see one thing thru to the end before going on to the next thing, but right now am being forced to with no choice – which might not be a bad thing at all!

  2. HI Marcia and Pam
    This is great because it is similar to what I do; maybe it’s because I used to be a teacher. As a teacher one has the opportunity to start afresh each year and so it is a good idea to constantly evaluate and retarget.
    As a writer (not full time – I have to work for my living) I have stopped telling my work colleagues my targets. They take an interest in my writing but I believe there are elements of jealousy because I have made time for myself to write. I used to tell them my target for finishing a book etc and they would be negative when I ‘failed’ to reach my own target. It never bothered me because I because I know I am progressing and I know that three novels out this year (one out already and two completed and in editing) is a good result. It’s amazing how colleagues can become so critical and ‘know’ so much of how one should lead one’s own life; now I tell them my books will be ready when they’re ready.
    I set myself targets to push myself, but life happens. So I reset the target and carry on working hard and I get results. They’re my results and I am pleased with them so I don’t care what others think.

    • That’s the right attitude and one we should all have, Chris. I, too, have people in my life who think they have a right to judge my efforts and progress. I just ignore them and keep on plugging away. Thanks

  3. Gene’s probably onto something (as usual!) in evaluating so often. I tend to take about 6 weeks to get that something is wrong and start examining. maybe i need to bumo up my schedule!

    Thanks for the post, Pam!

  4. Pam, thank you so much for being my awesome guest today! Obviously your post resonated with so many readers, including me. To all of our visitors, thank you for coming by and taking the time to comment on Pam’s post. This is why we write.

  5. As long as you’re writing, you’re edging toward your goals. It’s important to reassess your formal goals/plans, but I find that doing that is often a way to divert my energies from what I should be doing–writing. But sometimes I just think way too hard about these things…

  6. I tend to evaluate my goals when I have a crying fit over nothing. Or when I wake up in the middle of the night with my back throbbing because I’m so tense. That’s when I know I can’t keep going as is for much longer.

    I run on “high” all the time, and I don’t do anything a little bit. This is both my best attribute and my downfall. I can cut myself and not notice until I smear blood on something important. But I also lose sight of the important things sometimes. 😀

    Thanks for this post, Pam. You let me know–with you usual humor–that I am not alone.

  7. Pam, this post is so great! It’s true that goal reaching isn’t just about deciding on something than taking a static approach. That’s not how life works! We should be shaping our goals to fit out needs. Thank you for that reminder!

    • I’m learning that part of the process, at least for me, is figuring out exactly what I DO want to write (or at least, what I want to write the most, since I want to write pretty much everything lol)! That requires a little room for growth and change : ).

  8. Pamela Hawley, you get out of my head! Honestly, I loved this post, and you wrote with such honesty that I’m not sure it’s possible, but I adore you even more than I already did. Between you and Gene, I have some really good tips that will be put into effect this weekend. I’m planning a little LLC jolt for myself in the future, and this post is going to help me create it. Thank you!

  9. I enjoyed this post. I’m re-tooling my own goals right now and I’m always eager to learn how other people balance and retweak. I’d never thought about analyzing my priorities as deeply as you do and now I see it as an integral part of the process. Thanks so much! I’m going to try to visit most of the Life List blog hoppers this weekend to see what else I can learn. Have a terrific day!

  10. Gene, I’m so glad that you were a part of the rotation as it allowed me to discover your blog, and I’ll definitely continue to visit regularly! You’re right – these sessions sometimes border on painful. I HATE to back off on anything. I’m thinking of adding “learning to be more adaptable/flexible” TO my Life List goals : )!

  11. Goals are so important. I used to work at the local air force base. The military personnel would retire – healthy, strong, middle-aged men – and within a year several would die. What happened we asked? The same situation appeared to happen each time. They had no goals, no new life, nothing to look forward to. They sat in front of the tv and gave up.

    The ones who lived had planned a whole new life for after retirement, whether it was a new job, traveling, a farm, whatever, they had a goal for their new life.

    • Hi Linda,
      I’ve heard of that happening to a lot of retirees. It is hard for me to imagine since I’ve had my “list of things to learn/do in my spare time” since I started working, and can barely make a dent it in with a 40-plus hour job and writing! I look forward to retirement someday with excitement as a chance to truly pursue interests I can only dabble in now. A former boss of mine was the best example – he stuck around on a very part-time basis after retiring and we had become friends while he was my boss, so I was able to see his transition from full-time, superstressed director to photographer and local political/environmental activist. It was awesome : )!

  12. I tend to evaluate my goals every other weekend (during the rare moments of peaceful lucidity). These are necessary sessions and sometimes difficult, such as my decision to step away from the Life List Club rotation (yes, this is my final round, for now).

    While these choices are hard they are a part of the natural progression of life. We have to stay flexible in order to find success in the end.

    Great post, Pam!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

