Talk to Your Mountain

When you have a family, you have issues to deal with from time to time. Since everyone handles crisis, financial troubles, relationship conflicts, health issues, etc differently, parents stand by ready to help wherever they can…thank goodness.

Once in my life and once in each of my adult children’s lives, it was a fortunate day when a parent stepped forward to lend a hand. It’s a  treasureTroubles to have parents, and sometimes other family members and friends, who offer that kind of support, but it is we who must ultimately solve the problem.

When your problem seems insurmountable, you often spend time stressing and worrying. Soon you calm yourself and try to brainstorm a way around the problem. You may contact a confidant for a second opinion. Then you stew some more. You’ll be so overcome with your problem, you may talk to coworkers, a neighbor ro anyone who will listen, because it seems that if you talk about  it, it’s easier to deal with.

Eventually you begin to create scenarios that are almost unreasonable, but you feel that discomfort comes with the territory…that being a difficult problem. Finally, you reluctantly talk to a family member who offers a consoling ear and an offer to help. You want to accept the help, but something in you stops you in your tracks.

Rock Climbing in Dali

Image via Wikipedia

Does any of this sound familiar? As I said, I’ve been there and I imagine some of you have, too. I recently read Alexis Grant’s blog post, Climbing Mountains, where she quoted Joel Osteen in a talk about how to deal with your big problems. Joel is a preacher. He’s written motivational-spiritual books and preaches at the largest church in the country, Lakewood Church, Houston. I’m not religious, but I do find him to be motivational. Alexis had this to tell about Joel’s message:

We all have mountains in life, he said, ones that sometimes seem insurmountable. But praying about them isn’t enough. Neither is thinking about them or talking about them. In fact, talking about your mountains often just makes them bigger.

Instead, you have to talk to your mountains, he said. Don’t ask them to move; tell them to. Don’t worry about whether you can overcome them; know you can.

In other words, the only way to conquer your mountains is to climb them. So stop talking about your mountains, and start climbing.

Thanks, Alexis. I agree! Having a support system is essential throughout life, but knowing you can power up and overcome whatever obstacle is dropped in your path, no matter how humoungous, is the inner strength that will aid you in that conquest, never to look back!

What’s been your source of strength during difficult times? Do you believe in just climbing the mountain?

You know I love hearing from you and anxiously await your comments!

Please stop by The Life List Club and join our readers in sharing goals and achievements! Watch for  next month’s Milestone Party!!! Prizes, virtual food and drink, balloons! We’ll be looking for you.

19 thoughts on “Talk to Your Mountain

  1. Pingback: Write Anywhere #8 | kristin nador writes anywhere

  2. Thanks for sharing this Marcia. I love the message Joel Osteen shares and had the pleasure of going to Lakewood Church and meeting him in Feb. 2010. His message is so positive and forward thinking…that face and realize you are looking at a mountain, then work to move past/over/around it. I used to stand alone and face mountains for way too long. While we may have to climb sometimes, you are right about slowing down to do it. My talking to the mountain now is at times to myself, via journal, to others or in other aspects of my writing.

  3. Wonderful post Marcia and so good to read everyone’s comments. What a strong group of women and it seems we are all like-minded. Facing challenges is just part of the complicated journey of life. A loving family and strong friendships are wonderful foundations for a support system but as each of these comments attests, the strength ultimately comes from within. Moving/climbing mountains is what we all can do. One day at a time.

    • You’re right, Patrica! All of you women are strong, positive, inspirational models for women everywhere. I feel lucky to have some many of you as friends here. Thanks.

  4. I’m a very proactive person, so I wrongly assumed I could prevent life’s obstacles from becoming insurmountable mountains by planning ahead, saving for a rainy day, taking good care of myself and family, etc.

    Then life happened, and I quickly learned I don’t control much at all, and especially not the important things. Mountains I couldn’t predict, prevent, or push away have blocked me, sometimes for years..loved ones terminal illnesses, infertility, miscarriages, my child’s autism, a chronic health condition. These experiences changed me for the better, but at what a cost.

    I’ve learned to be patient and accepting of others and myself, to think positive, to take big risks and embrace failure as part of learning, and here’s the biggie–to let go of fear. (Think of that Mel Brooks movie DEFENDING YOUR LIFE.)

    Thanks for this post, Marcia. My soul was in need of a more spiritual approach today. Face your fears, and embrace life. Savor the journey!

    • You have climbed your mountain, Jolyse. I’m familiar with autism and know what a daily challenge it is…on top of everything else life throws at us. While you can’t make it go away for your child or yourself, you’ve learned to manage it and, in my book, that’s climbing to the top of the mountain and shouting to world–“I’m strong and nothing is going to get the better of me!”
      ~Face your fears, and embrace life. Savor the journey!! Very inspiring! Thank you for being such a positive voice amid all your difficult experiences!

  5. When a mountain appears in front of me, I consider several things. “What can I, or am I supposed to, learn form this?” I then try to pull into the present moment, and often discover that the mountain exists within a future that I may not ever have to enter. So many mountains and bridges are illusions springing from worry. Grief is a mountain, and I agree with Donna, the only way to go is “through” it.

    However, I did climb a mountain once, looking for something at the top, and ultimately tumbled down it’s side. Scarred and broken at the bottom, when I had nothing left, then I found the treasure.

  6. Oh yes, I’m quite familiar with that cycle. I try to foresee every possible angle and outcome, like a chessboard. I spend a lot of energy on those what-ifs instead of just climbing my mountain. I like that distinction, “talk *to* your mountain” not about it. Great post. 🙂

    • Thanks, Angela. I’m glad you found something helpful. And it’s not a bad idea to to look ahead but, yes, don’t overdo it. Thanks for sharing.

  7. We all have our mountains and sometimes it takes a heroic effort to climb them. There are two phases I write down everyday. The first is ‘Don’t let your thoughts take you where you don’t want to go.’ The second is ‘Today, I am a bright light in the Universe.’ I can’t tell you how much strength I’ve drawn from those two phrases.

    • Those are powerful statements, Diana! One of mine is, “Believe in yourself and all that you are. Know that there is something inside you that is greater than any obstacle.” And my Dad drilled into me, “When the Going gets tough, the tough get going.” I love the idea of writing them down everyday…seeing it on paper and hearing yourself say it would make it stick.

  8. Well said Marcia (your reply to Linda). Sometimes being a strong woman is hard because everyone just assumes you can conquer anything, but it’s nice when you can reach out for support. I believe in going over or through the mountain, whichever works best for the situation.

  9. Marcia I have found that I to go through them. I found a motivational poster when i went away to grad school the first time that said, “the only way out is through”. I have found that to be true and helpful. The trick is finding the right path through it.

    • Over, under, through…whichever way you go about it, it’s all about getting past that obstacle and getting on with life. Going through the mountain has obviously served you well…Happy the tribulations have triumphed over the trials, Donna. Thanks.

  10. Well, first I’d have to whine a lot. Then I’d just “climb the mountain.” My oldest son commented recently that he thought of me as being strong, that I faced whatever issue arose, made a decision, and addressed it. He also said he never wanted to make me mad at him. Come on, a 6’4″, 200+ lb, 39+ year-old big man afraid of me??? Made me laugh at him. I never thought of myself as being strong. I just did what I had to.

    • That’s what strong women do, Linda. We don’t make a big show of it, we just do what’s needed. Your son’s fear of making you angry says he understands that you won’t let anything get in the way of doing what’s right, no matter who stands in your path or how difficult the path is. What a wonderful compliment! Thanks for sharing, Linda.

I love it when you tell me what you think!

