Oooh, Sexy! Food

 I’m a big fan of sexy foods. The attraction begins with the sensual shape of the food, the aroma that sparks all your senses, the texture as it rolls over your tongue , and the sweet or savory flavor that envelopes your taste buds.

Three foods you may never have thought of as sexy foods have some powerful ingredients to increase the libido and generally make you feel good.   

ASPARAGUS – Asparagus “stirs up lust in man and woman,” wrote English herbalist Nicholas Culpepper in the 17th century. In 19th-century France, bridegrooms were served three courses of the sexy spears at their prenuptial dinner. Asparagus is a great source of folic acid, among other nutrients. Folic Acid boosts histamine production necessary for the ability to reach orgasm in both sexes.

Try the following recipe and pair it with succulent lamb chops, or your favorite beef dish. Then watch the sparks fly!

Minted Asparagus

  1. 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  2. 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  3. 1 shallot, minced
  4. 1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
  5. 1/4 cup mint leaves
  6. Salt and freshly ground pepper
  7. 1 1/2 pounds pencil-thin asparagus
  • In a small saucepan, heat the olive oil. Add the garlic and shallot and simmer over moderate heat until fragrant and softened, about 3 minutes. Transfer to a blender, add the lemon zest and let cool. Add the mint and a generous pinch of salt and pepper and puree to a chunky paste.
  • In a large skillet of boiling salted water, cook the asparagus until crisp-tender, about 4 minutes. Drain the asparagus and run under cold water to cool; pat dry. Transfer the asparagus to a platter and drizzle with the mint dressing.

FIGS – Said to be Cleopatra’s favorite food, the sweet, purple fruits are sexy in both appearance and texture. For obvious reasons, they’ve been a synonym in erotic literature for female sexual organs. To the ancient Greeks, they were “more precious than gold” and many cultures associated figs with fertility.

This recipe would create a sensual aperitif to any romantic meal:

Goat Cheese – Stuffed Figs

1. 12 Figs     2. Goat Cheese     3. Warmed Honey

Quarter 12 figs, cutting three-quarters of the way down. Stuff the figs with goat cheese. Roast in an oiled pan at 425′ for 12 minutes, until softened. Serve drizzled with warmed honey.

RED WINE –  Enjoyed by most everyone since ancient times, it is well-known for its positive effect on cholesterol and its cancer-preventing reservatrol. It is also a stress-reducer which can be healthful as well as beneficial on a romantic evening.

In addition to your glass with dinner, end your meal with a sumptuously creamy (and healthy) dessert:

Cherries Poached in Red Wine with Mascarpone Cream

2 1/4 cups Red Wine     1 cup sugar     1 wide strip of orange zest

2 lbs. sweet cherries, halved and pitted     1 cup mascarpone cheese    

2 1/2 tablespoons honey

In a medium stainless-steel saucepan, combine wine, sugar and orange zest. Bring to a simmer over moderately high heat. Add the cherries and bring back to a simmer. Reduce the heat and simmer, partially covered, until cherries are just tender, about 5 minutes. Pour into a glass or stainless-steel bowl so the cherries don’t overcook.

In a small bowl, combine the mascarpone with the honey. Remove the strip of orange zest from the cherries. Serve the warm cherries and syrup in bowls or stemmed glasses, topped with a large dollop of the mascarpone cream.

**********************************************************************

I hope you’ll try these recipes or create your own and lavish in a romantic meal with your main squeeze! I’ll bring you more sexy foods in a few weeks.

Have you invented a meal that sets the mood? Do you have other favorite sexy foods?

What other ‘sexy’ things would you like to see written about here?

You know I love hearing from and anxiously await your comments!

Don’t forget to stop in at the Life List Club. Subscribe to this blog and you’ll be eligible for prizes at our Milestone Party in September!

ATTENTION readers! Tomorrow, August 9th, I’d love for you to visit M.E. Anders: the Fit Mystique where Mindi Anders will be interviewing me about reading, writing and other personal stuff.  While you’re there, please leave a comment and let me know if you have any further questions for me. Mindi has an awesome blog site and you should read about her novel-in-progress, Playing God. Thanks for the blog love, in advance! 

 

 

    

 

 

12 thoughts on “Oooh, Sexy! Food

  1. Hmmm, never thought of asparagus as sexy, but yeah I can see it. Now figs, oh heck yes. I love them with goat cheese and warm honey! I’ll have to try the cherries – I’m not a wine drinker, but don’t mind a food made with some. Weird, I know. Yum!

    Looking forward to more sexy recipes!!

  2. I think, one night, when all the kids are out my husband and I will be having a special dinner…asparagus, figs and red wine will be on the menu! Thanks for the recipes. What a fun post.

  3. Hi Marcia!

    Thanks for the asparagus recipe. I don’t eat it, but everyone else in my family loves it. I’ll have to surprise them.

    Any fresh finger foods, like strawberries or other fruits dipped in cream can be sexy. I’m also a huge fan of seafood that can be eaten by hand. Remember that classic lobster scene with Jennifer Beal in Flashdance?

    As far as sexy topics…How setting can affect your mood. For example, I find eating alfresco in a tropical locale with my significant other very romantic. 😉
    Also, I often wonder about what atypical characteristics or body parts attract people. For me, it’s his voice and hands. Just a thought.

    • Oh they’ll love the asparagus! It’s a favorite of my husband and I.
      Finger foods, great idea! Yes that scene in Flashdance was hot!
      I love your idea about the body parts! Hands, voice, eyes all get my vote. I’ll credit you in the post when I write about this. Thanks!

  4. Red wine is always good. I think almost any food has the potential to be “orgasmic” if you haven’t eaten in awhile. And no, I’m not being coy. I mean it. When you’re hungry anything tastes really good. But the best things I’ve had usually include pasta and chocolate. I’m not the best sharer of my food though. I can totally hog the bigger slice of pie.

I love it when you tell me what you think!

