Book Trailer Review: The Postmistress and Killer Pizza

Happy Wednesday! I’m trying something new this week, Book Trailer Reviews. Let me know how you like it.

The first is a book I’ve read, The Postmistress, by Sarah Blake. I wanted to love this book, but I was terribly disappointed. I write 20th century historical fiction and felt this book would be a great example to follow. I loved the story line (the author outlines it in the trailer), but I wanted to know the characters better. We only get to know them superficially. How do you come to care about a character with only that to go on?

The story line promoted by the author regards a decision by the postmistress not to deliver a letter and was supposed to be a critical point in the plot, however, it came late in the book and the decision bothered the character momentarily, but it did not move the story forward and it didn’t help in getting to know the character any better.

This book is a good example…of how not to write characters. The trailer is well-done with appropriate vintage photos and music. The author speaks about her book and tells the story in a way that fills you with the desire to be transported back to that time. My only criticism about this trailer would be that I wish the author had paid more attention to her appearance. Her hair was unkempt. It was a bit distracting.

Killer Pizza by Greg Taylor is not a book I’ve read, but one that has received 5-star reviews on Amazon. Here’s an excerpt:

The story revolves around 14 year old Toby, who finds himself working at his town’s new Pizza parlor along with his co-workers Strobe and Annabel. But Toby soon discovers that the pizzeria is a front for a clandestine monster-hunting organization. Before long they find themselves some dangerous nocturnal monsters that are a combination between vampire, werewolf and gargoyle… and these creatures are intelligent, too. This is a fine good versus evil tale, and is fast paced, yet entertaining. Author Greg Taylor does a good job describing the scenes, and all in all, it’s a good read, especially for the 12- or 13-year-old who doesn’t suffer from nightmares.

Now, in review of the trailer, I have to say I was entertained. The video conveyed the important elements: The main characters are two boys and a girl who work in pizza shop and hunt monsters. The music is upbeat and includes a little horror movie music. the trailer is partially presented on a drive-in movie theater screen with clips from vintage monster movies. It gives the viewer a rough idea of the plot. If I were a young teenager, it would entice me to buy the book. See what you think.

 [I’d love to know what your review would be of these trailers. Would you give The Postmistress and Killer Pizza a thumbs up or down?

I love hearing from you and anxiously await your comments.

Don’t forget to go to my Facebook author page here and LIKE it. When I hit 100 LIKEs, one lucky person will win a copy of Robyn Carr’s Wild Man Creek!

4 thoughts on “Book Trailer Review: The Postmistress and Killer Pizza

  1. Jess, I think if I were a young teen (God help me), I might find it a pretty good story, but I was a young teen in the early ’60s, so don’t go by me. 🙂

    Nicole, thanks, I think I keep doing them, maybe once or twice a month. I’ll go check the note–than ks for that!

  2. I love your commentary on these. Especially the mess hair comment. 🙂 Book trailers are an interesting trend.

    P.S. There is a little note about your upcoming post next week on today’s Writers’ Uni-Verse-City post.

I love it when you tell me what you think!

