Are We Allowed Just One Passion?

I hear people ask others, “What’s your passion?”, as if we can only have one. Maybe we’re supposed to just have one passion and no one told me. I have a gazillion passions and I find new ones often. When I was 19, my passion was riding a motorcycle. The feeling of power between your legs (ahem! don’t go there!), the wind in your hair, the freedom, and the ability to drive forever on a tank of gas was better than s…well, better than a lot of things.

Passion is energy. Feel the power that comes from focusing on what excites you.
Oprah Winfrey

When I became a mom, raising my kids was my passion. During those years, I also had a passion for everything creative…I stitched, I painted, I sketched, I sewed…I did it all. I organized craft shows for my community and for my kid’s schools. I volunteered for everything at their schools. I was the constant Room mother, field trip chaperone, Brownie Troop leader, PTA President…and I loved every minute of it.

Today my family and my writing is where my passion is focused most often. In my future blog posts and my books, my passion for helping others navigate the tight pathways of life and health will be evident once again. 

Some people feel stuck. They say they can’t find their passion, as if it’s something that could get lost. If this is you, or someone you know, ask some questions. Are you weary, fatigued? Are afraid of pursuing an interest? Are you imagining obstacles to reaching for your passion?

If you haven’t been taking care of yourself, you may just be worn out. Take time to rest, let go of the stressors, care for yourself, sleep, read and give yourself time to refresh.  Eventually you feel the energy to discover a new passion.

If you’re used to accepting negative judgements, you may find it difficult to pursue your passion that lies beneath the surface. Find supportive people who will encourage you to find excitement in the things you’ve always imagined yourself doing. Avoid the doubting and critical voices.

If you find yourself making excuses and fearing failure, you must realize you have to face that fear and move forward to your passion anyway. Being courageous only come from acting courageous. Follow your dreams  all the while acknowledging the fear. You will break out of your comfort zone and feel proud that you are doing something meaningful.

Are you pursuing your passion? Do you have more than one? Are you feeling stuck and need help breaking free to give life to your passion?

Please leave a comment. I’d love to know what you think about this topic.

Notice: I will be blogging on more than just writing tips from now on. I realize that not all of my readers are writers and I want all of you to enjoy your time here. I’ll be trying out various topics to find the ones that strike a chord with you…so this will be an adventure for us all. My thanks to Kristen Lamb, author of two best-selling books, We are Not Alone The Writer’s Guide to Social Media and Are You There Blog? It’s Me, Writer. Kristen has set my blogging on the right track.

                                        

2 thoughts on “Are We Allowed Just One Passion?

  1. I also write for 2 audiences…those who garden and those who don’t …it is a tricky thing but I am hopeful I have struck a chord with both and I find all your posts interesting…of course my passion is my writing and gardening…but there are still others I am just discovering…it is a process that unfolds as we grow…wonderful!!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

