Getting the Most Out of My Days/Daze

Most days I like to cram in as much stuff as possible, so I can feel satisfied by bedtime that I got alot accomplished. I’ll do this for days on end and then, BAMM!!, one day I can’t do a gosh darn thing! I’ve crashed, I’m fatigued, I can’t put two intelligent words together, and I’m cranky. I get a good night’s sleep, eat and get up the next day and start cramming again, only to crash a few days later. It’s not a good cycle.

It’s just that there are so many things I want to do…and I have trouble choosing which to do on a particular day, so I try to do them all: meet my writing goal; do some house and yard work; spend time with my husband; eat a couple of meals; paint my chairs (I paint old chairs and make them into plant-pot holders for gardens); go see my grandchildren; sleep; help out my Mom (all of my family members live between 2-5 hours away); recover the cushions of the couch on my porch; play with my cat; do some social networking; exercise; read a book; write my blog.  I know, I have a problem.  I’m working on it. Obviously, I can’t accomplish ALL of that in one day…ooh, but I want to so much!

Part of my problem is that I have trouble keeping to a sleep/wake schedule. I’m not one of those fortunate people who has an inner clock set to a specific wake-up time. Left alone, I could sleep 12+ hours – no problem. I promised myself when I retired that I would never set the alarm clock again.

Alarm clock

Image via Wikipedia

So what’s a girl to do? I did what any self-respecting wife would do, I gave my husband the unpleasant task of waking me up at a ‘no later than’ time every morning. But then he isn’t always a ball of fire in the AM either.

I love staying up late and sleeping in the next day, but hate waking up so late that it’s noon before I’ve finished breakfast. Half the day is gone by then and all I’ve had time to do is eat. So, I hurry to get dressed and, without a clearcut plan, I’m frantically running around like a chicken with my head cut off, so I end up accomplishing very little.

You’d  think, no matter what time I got up in the morning and went to sleep at night, that I would have the same number of hours to devote to the things I want to accomplish. Wrong. As the daylight wanes, so does my inspiration.

Well, this chicken has a new pair of wings and a real head on her shoulders today! Here’s what I do:

1. My husband sets the alarm, which is in the next room.  

2. My husband heads downstairs to make breakfast and I stumble after him.

3. I make a list of which projects I will undertake after breakfast.

4. I check items off the list as I go. What doesn’t get done today, goes on tomorrow’s list. 

Now, you might say, “Oh, is that all? Lot’s of people make lists.” It’s true, lots of people do make lists. Some actually use them and some don’t. As a retiree, I let myself get a little too laid back and stopped writing down the lists in my head. Consequently, not much got done.

As you can see in my picture, I feel like a champ, though I still have my crazy ‘chicken without a head’ moments. I’ve made time to work on my books, cook meals, play with my hubby, and pursue all the other activities I love – without feeling stressed, in a daze, or confused. Yay me! You can do it, too!

Do you suffer from ‘chicken without a head’ syndrome? How do you get yourself organized? How disciplined are you?

5 thoughts on “Getting the Most Out of My Days/Daze

  1. Pingback: Wing Tips Slinger

  2. @hawleywood40, sounds like a good plan. I know how hard it is to stick to one, though. We all just have to keep working at it as eventually it becomes part of our routine. Good luck and thanks for stopping by!

  3. Discipline is definitely my weak spot, along with always thinking whatever I did with the day isn’t enough. And when I go over my accomplishments at the end of the day, I tend to exclude the whole “worked 8-10 hours” part because I didn’t want to do it, so I end up feeling like I wasted the day. I’m learning to let other things go (dust or some dishes in the sink won’t kill me) to prioritize writing with the time I do have, and to use the weekends as “one day for writing and chores, and one day for laziness, family time and fun.”

  4. Every day I feel like this. That is why I have to have lists…how very timely your post since my next post is related to this topic…if I can focus long enough to write it.

I love it when you tell me what you think!

