Do You Play Favorites?

I’m talking about books today. Favorite books, authors, genres.    I love most books but, horror and paranormal stories give me nightmares and fantasy stories leave me cold. They just don’t hold my attention. So, I apologize to all those authors out there whose books I may never read. However, I have great respect for all authors, knowing what it takes to write a great story, publish it and have it read by thousands. 

When you count genres and sub-genres, the list gets very long. Generally, the list of genres in the poll in the sidebar are the ones most readers use to categorize the books they read. We all have our preferences. I wonder what yours are. Please take my poll. it’s located in the sidebar. You’ll be able to see the results, too.

My favorites are Historical, Women’s Fiction, Mystery/Thriller and Non-fiction, but here’s a list of some great books in various genres. Some of these authors have a long list of books to their credit and some are authors making their first splash. All are excellent writers and worth checking out. Be aware this is only a tiny sampling of all the great writing out there in the world. I’ll give you a new list at least once a month. Enjoy!

Biography/MemoirA. Scott Berg‘s Goldwyn: A Biography, Samuel Goldwyn’s life story “…as much about an industry as about a man. He was his own man in the golden age of the Hollywood studio system.”

Classic NovelsErnest Hemingway‘s The Old Man and The Sea , his last great work which led to winning the Nobel Prize in 1954.

Historical FictionPatricia Falvey‘s The Linen Queen, an Irish WWII in which the heroine searches for where she belongs and the passion she feels for two men of differing political views.

Horror/ParanormalAmanda Hocking‘s My Blood Approves series, unique and entrancing paranormal tales.

Mystery/Thriller/SuspenseSteve Berry‘s  The Jefferson Key: A Novel, Cotton Malone is known for his overseas exploits. A former-Justice Department operative, who can’t stay out of trouble, is having his first American adventure.

Non-FictionLaura Hillenbrand‘s Unbroken: A WWII Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption, the inspiring true story of a man who lived through a series of catastrophes almost too incredible to be believed.

RomanceJulia Quinn‘s Just Like Heaven, historical romance novel, a light, fun afternoon read.

Science Fiction/FantasyJonathan Strahan‘s The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume 1, “…an excellent sampling of some of the most interesting contemporary voices in sf and fantasy, including Neil Gaiman, Cory Doctorow, Kelly Link, and Paul Di Filippo, tackling a pleasingly wide range of subject matter.”

Women’s Fiction/Chick LitLuanne Rice‘s The Silver Boat,  a heartwarming yet heart-wrenching portrait of three far-flung sisters who come home to Martha’s Vineyard one last time.

Wow, it was really hard to choose only one in each genre, but the good news is that I’ll be posting titles each month. So, stop by again to see what else I’m recommending and discover an author and book you might just love.

As always, I love hearing from you. Leave me a comment and tell me what books you’d recommend or what you’re reading right now. Don’t forget to take the poll at the right.

4 thoughts on “Do You Play Favorites?

  1. Some nice suggestions for reading. I hope to get more time to read (and a Kindle!) floating in my pool this summer.

    • Oooh, the lap of luxury…”How does a hot cougar spend her free time at her estate? Scantily clad afloat in her serene pool surrounded by lush gardens, reading her favorite literary tomes.” lol

  2. Gardening books are a natural for you. Funny how we all get enamored with a particular author or a few authors and loyally read all their books.

  3. I definitely play favorites… of course I read gardening books and love mysteries..I have several British and American mystery series or authors I absolutely must read…

I love it when you tell me what you think!

