Still learning

You  might think it’s kind of crazy to try to write a novel without having taken one course in creative writing, attending any workshops or even sitting in on a webinar on the subject. Well, maybe it is, but I’m forging ahead anyway. I’ve already done tons of research, talked to other budding authors, read many books on many different aspects of writing, and have been reading of all genres of novels for the past forty years.  I’ve been writing for about six years and have been told I have a “knack” for it. People seem to enjoy what I’ve written…blogs, articles, and recently a children’s rhyme. Writing a novel is a horse of a different color, however. All writing and reading prepares you for “The Book”, but, wow, it’s quite an undertaking.

Starting out, I was overwhelmed with all that I had yet to learn. The process is an arduous one. But, I’m loving it! I have finally reached the point where I can see the story beginning to take shape. I have a lot of work yet to do, of course, but now I am empowered by my little bit of progress and the clarity I’m gaining.

This story is of the coming of age of two young women growing up in the 1940s. They both have been affected by their upbringing, different from each other’s, but both difficult. Now they are turning 18 in 1941, just after the second world war has erupted. They meet at a dance studio and become instant comrades, despite their opposing personalities. The fact that these two can navigate the tumultuous decade of the 1940s and through the rest of their lives, coming out having learned so much, may give you hope, may make you weep, but will show you how people can triumph despite the odds laid before them.

Please check in regularly for tips and articles on what I’ve learned about writing, as well as progress on my novel.

6 thoughts on “Still learning

    • Thanks for commenting, wovenstrands. Good luck with your work. My opinion, it’s only a hobby if that’s all you want it to be. For some of us writers, it may take a long time to do this well enough to get published, but our perseverance will pay off. 🙂 I’ll be happy to check out your blog, too.

  1. Ok, first off….. how did I not know you had a blog!!! Wow, I gotta get out of my cave. Secondly, your book sounds FABULOUS. The story line grabbed my interest right away. Such a different theme and story line, not the usual stuff. I will be glad to read your drafts! You are such a great writer and have such a wonderful way with words, that I think you will be on your way in no time. I am SO excited for you. Push on through, you always do things the right way so I know you will be so successful. ❤

  2. Marcia,

    Sounds very cool. I’ll race ya (just kidding). I wish you lots of luck and very little writer’s block. Don’t be afraid to visit me at Brewing up Stories and Beer. I will put some of my “sage” advice and thoughts. People tell me I have good thoughts.

    • Thanks, Jason! Wishing you all good things with yours, too. I subscribed to your blog, so I’ll have all your advice at hand! It would be cool to compare notes, next time we’re together.

  3. It is quite an undertaking, but you sound exuberant and charged, kudos and positive vibes your way. I am starting my second book, the first a miserable failure, I was so naive and made so many mistakes. This time I have set myself limits and found the greatest advice in “No Plot, No problem” by chris Baty If you have a chance or interest I would recommend reading it, very motivational. There really is a novel in all of us!

I love it when you tell me what you think!

